Reflecting On My Past And Future Role In The Conservative Movement

Adapted From My Personal Facebook Page.

Sam Whitfield
Whitfield Report
2 min readOct 15, 2016

--

Maybe I’m overreacting, but I’m feeling really torn about this election and politics in general right now. I’ll address the thing with Trump in a more formal blog post tomorrow. Right now I’d like to speak with you all personally in this post.

At The Beginning

I’ve been interested in political commentary since I was about 9 and a half years old back in 2004 when I heard Rush Limbaugh on the radio. Hearing the way he commanded a presence on the radio was inspiring to me even at an early age and I knew I wanted to follow in his footsteps. Fast forward to 2008. I was 13 or 14 at this point and podcasting had recently become a thing. I decided to do a “mock radio show” of my own and see if anyone liked it. Low and behold some people did and I became part of a new generation of conservative voices and activists. Through the years, I’ve been blessed to have met some of my closest friends through political Facebook groups, Twitter, and my podcast audience.

Benefits of Being A Political Pundit

Becoming friends with great people and fellow political pundits alike,has been one of the best things to happen to me as a result of my political involvement, as has starting a new online publication with Gabe Iacoboni, Adam Hill, Joshua Johnson, and Anthony Camargo. (Thanks guys!)

The Unfortunate Reality of American Conservatism In 2016.

I look at all the positive things that I’ve been able to do and accomplish as a result of my interest in politics, and then I look at the political climate itself and I feel sick. I’ve seen too many fights within the conservative movement during this election over certain candidates and other stuff. Again, I stress FIGHTS as the problem here as opposed to disagreements.

As a result, I’ve been thinking a lot about where my place in political commentary is or if I even have one at this point. I’d like to continue and I feel obligated to at some level. At the same time though, I’m not sure I can continue on with all this infighting so maybe I’ll switch to writing short stories as a main focus and quit politics. I’m honestly not sure what to do yet but I felt the need to express my frustration with y’all. Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome. The only thing I know for sure is that I will remain with American Watchmen indefinitely but my content may change depending on what I do post election.

I’ll make an announcement when the time is right. Until then, God Bless and thanks for reading.

--

--

Sam Whitfield
Whitfield Report

Creator and host of The Whitfield Report, and an all around good guy! Politics and Society commentary, Blogger, Author and Podcaster.