Morgan Portlock, aka MoPo, is a new and dynamic addition to the Whitworth University softball team.

Angel in the Outfield

Kelly Logie
Whitworth Softball Spring 2016
3 min readMar 17, 2016

--

Learn more about Whitworth University’s Morgan Portlock.

Softball hasn’t always been just a sport to Whitworth University freshman Morgan Portlock. It’s a lifestyle. The 5’7 left fielder may only be 19, but her hard work and dedication is evident whenever she takes the field.

Portlock in the Whitworth softball field’s dugout.

A newcomer to Whitworth, Portlock is originally from Portland, Oregon. On the field, she was named First Team All-Portland Interscholastic League honoree as both a junior and senior at Lincoln High School.

In the classroom, she is a secondary education major, hoping to become a high school history teacher once she graduates. Even though softball takes up a majority of her time, it doesn’t stop her from doing other fun activities as a regular college student.

“I love spending time with my family, and when I go home I love spending time with my friends,” Portlock said. “Occasionally, I’ll watch a couple Netflix episodes. Playing racquetball is another thing that I love to do.”

Off of the field, she’s typically spending her days doing some sort of athletic activity, such as hiking or running. Portlock even played racquetball for her high school team. She is a member of the SAC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee as well, being able to serve other NCAA athletes in a leadership role.

Portlock has a great relationship with her coaches and teammates, and she felt she created those close bonds immediately.

“Morgan, aka MoPo, is a player who brings a good amount of high level softball experience with her to our team. She is a team player with a positive attitude!” Head Coach, Cristal Brown

When Portlock was deciding on where to go to college, she imagined herself going to a smaller, private school. Whitworth has been a perfect fit for her thus far.

“My favorite memory at Whitworth would have to be getting to know all the people in my dorm and getting to know my team,” she said.

She lives in the all-freshmen dorm, Baldwin-Jenkins, and loves the sense of community.

Portlock in front of her dorm, Baldwin-Jenkins.

“There are multiple things going on in one night, and it is really great because it brings everyone together,” she said.

As a freshman student-athlete, she feels that she has something to prove to her teammates and coaches.

“MoPo has a tremendously great work ethic. It’s not always easy coming into a great softball program as a freshman and working to earn playing time while balancing the challenges that being a college student presents, however she has been doing exactly that.” Assistant Coach, Bob Castle

“Since I am young, I feel like I am an underdog,” she said. “It is good for me to experience this situation because I am learning so much.”

New to softball? Learn the positions!

--

--