5 Benefits You’ll Gain From Cutting Off Toxic ‘Friends’

From somebody who did it.

Liam Hunter-Bailey
Wholistique

--

Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

Around this time last year, I distanced myself from the toxic people in my life. I finally decided that enough was enough and it was time to stop pretending to be someone I wasn’t for people who weren’t worth it, and it was the best decision I’ve made.

One of the people closest to me, my best friend of eight years, was the last to go. As time passed, I started to realise that she didn’t make me feel good. I’d gotten so used to hanging out with her and listening to her endlessly talking about her boyfriends, her job, and her life that I had totally ignored the fact that she never once listened to me when I tried to talk about my life.

If I ever got the opportunity to say something, she would quickly shut me down with a quip and move the conversation back to herself. I began to realise that I was only hanging out with her because I always had — it was a habit that I had gotten so used to, I forgot that I could walk away.

It was only when I started making new friends that I realised how toxic our friendship had been. My new friends were (and still are) supportive, encouraging, and some of the best people I know. We all listen to each other’s wild stories and I look forward to seeing them as often as I can.

--

--

Liam Hunter-Bailey
Wholistique

An Irish language lover, writing about productivity, self-improvement, and my travel experiences.