5 Reasons You Should Definitely Consider Marrying Yourself

An unconventional idea that may have tremendous merit

Sandra Pawula
Wholistique

--

Photo by Natasha Fernandez on Pexels

A decade ago, one of my friends decided to marry herself.

She wrote vows, created a ceremony, and conducted the rite in a place that held special significance for her.

To be honest, the idea seemed strange to me at first.

But over the years, as I’ve lost myself in romantic entanglements, I eventually saw the wisdom in making an absolute commitment to oneself.

The idea of self-marriage may seem as strange to you as it initially did to me.

But consider this: How committed are you to yourself?

If your answer is less than you would like to be, it might be time to consider making a more serious commitment to yourself. While self-marriage hasn’t gone mainstream, it has been embraced by a cross-section of millennials.

Here are five compelling reasons to marry yourself.

1. You’ll live with yourself for the rest of your life

Partners come and go. Even when a partner commits to you through marriage, there’s close to a fifty-percent chance the union will end through divorce.

--

--

Sandra Pawula
Wholistique

Essays to calm your mind, ease your heart and access your inner wisdom. I love Hawaii, mindfulness, and living with ease. https://sandrapawula.substack.com/