5 Things I Learned Working as a Parole Officer

This will change how you think about human behaviour

Eamon McGrath
Wholistique

--

Image by Eamon McGrath

My first job after graduating as a Social Worker was as a Parole Officer.

Talk about a baptism by fire.

There I was at the ripe old age of 23, suddenly given a level of power, responsibility and authority, that looking back 15 years later just seems absurd.

There were a couple of weeks of training, then before I knew it I was on the front lines.

As with much of my working life, many of the lessons from this period only crystallized upon reflection years down the track.

I started that job feeling I had some grasp of psychology, human nature and society — this self-assuredness was soon obliterated.

I quickly learned that while human behavior was often predictable, it was rarely rational.

Take a second to read that again.

Understanding that rational thought is not the main driver of human behavior can give you a huge advantage in life.

You will be able to develop a level of self-management and mastery that most would only dream of. Relationships will be easier and more satisfying. You can make work and business decisions based on what actually motivates…

--

--

Eamon McGrath
Wholistique

Copywriter | Coach | Social Worker | Father of 4 | Aussie ex-pat who sold all my sh*t and moved my family to Bali