5 Things in America That Made Me Stop and Think Recently

Did I read that right?

Melissa Frost
Wholistique

--

Photo by Sara Melissa Frost

From grocery shopping to cars full of stickers, political yard signs, and stunning street art, there is usually a thing or two that sticks with me throughout the week. Sometimes five. Sometimes the list never ends. From time to time, odd things will catch me off guard, and other times, it just makes me think about the beauty of life.

This piece is not too deep or philosophical. I need that today. These are simply some of the things an immigrant like myself found fascinating in the United States recently.

A traveler’s car

Outside of the grocery store last week, I saw the car in the featured photo above. I did a story a few months back about stickers in America. Sticker excess. This car would’ve been a perfect cover photo.

The car, there was just something dreamy about it. It looked like the owners (judging by the stickers) embrace all things traveling. My mind started wandering — I wonder what the owners are doing for a living.

Are they nomads, do they live in the car, do they travel full-time, part-time, what’s their story? Are they a retired couple? Friends traveling together? Students taking a gap year?

--

--

Melissa Frost
Wholistique

Journalist. Mom. Wife. Norwegian in the U.S. Minimalist-ish.