7 Things To Stop Doing That Can Help You Enjoy Your Life More

The sooner you start, the brighter the years after 65 will be.

Don Johnson
Wholistique

--

Photo of the author by Patricia Ramaer

I’m 72, in good health, happily married, with a thriving part-time consulting business and a book coming out in June. I’m enjoying life more than ever. I feel very fortunate.

The road to get here has been filled with challenges — two divorces, the death of my parents, getting my addictive, perfectionistic, risk-taking personality under control, and surviving the ups and downs of working in corporate America without blowing a gasket.

Along the way, I did some things that helped me stay on course or, in some cases, get back on track. I invite you to consider them, particularly if you’re in midlife. And if you’ve already hit retirement age, it’s never too late to break bad habits and start new ones.

Here are seven practices that had a significant impact on my well-being.

1. Stop spending time with energy vampires.

The people you spend time with greatly influence your mental, emotional, and spiritual states. We absorb energy, whether it’s positive or negative. If you feel drained, uninspired, or depressed after spending time with certain people, it’s time to draw some boundaries.

--

--

Don Johnson
Wholistique

Author | Meditation Teacher | Advocate for Kindness, Respect & Freedom | Human Potential Coach | Connect with me here: www.bemoreconscious.com