How Feeling Comfortable Alone Will Change Your Life

It makes you a better human.

Katarzyna Portka
Wholistique

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

I come across a great deal of stigma blended with confusion about spending time alone.

My family finds it strange. Their friends cringe at my morning ritual of sipping coffee alone, preferably at my favourite coffee shop. Guys I have dated raised their eyebrows. My friends accept my lust for solitude but find it bizarre.

Looking at people who dine alone, we jump to the conclusion they are lonely. However, just because their friends don’t tag along doesn’t mean they have no friends to begin with.

Society and social media glamorize overblown parties and crowds. The quantity has exceeded the quality. I have found that tranquillity and solitude make our lives soar.

People who like spending time with themselves simply feel comfortable with their thoughts.

I don’t find anything bizarre about that. I find it rare.

My friend gets close to panic attacks whenever she contemplates having coffee alone and people staring at her.

If the prospect of ‘a table for one’ makes your palms sweaty, here are some ideas to give you that nudge outside the door:

People are preoccupied with their own shit.

--

--

Katarzyna Portka
Wholistique

Hungry for advice? I am here for you. I write about small habits that lead to monumental changes.