How to Manage Awkward Conversations with People Who Put Others Down

Because you prefer not to gossip and grumble

✨ Bridget Webber
Wholistique

--

Two women gossip, and the conversation’s awkward.
Source

I hoist a virtual red flag when people put others down in conversations. They’re unhappy and imagine somebody other than themselves is to blame. I might have fallen silent when I was younger or joined in with their cries of woe (thinking I was helpful). Now wiser, I see the situation from a different angle.

People get upset for various reasons, many of which don’t involve wrongdoing on anyone’s part. Confirming their complaints can be obstructive. Instead, I focus on the grumbler’s emotions, seeking the root of the problem. Or I do my best to scurry out of being a recipient of gossip.

You might feel stuck in a tight corner when someone grumbles about a shared friend or acquaintance, especially when you disagree or are unsure whether what they say is true.

Negativity has a habit of breeding. Doubtless, you’ll feel uneasy later if you inadvertently join in with complaints. Your spirits will drop when you recognize you helped muddy someone’s reputation.

--

--

✨ Bridget Webber
Wholistique

Former counselor. Spiritual growth, compassion, mindfulness, creativity, and psychology. Support me at https://ko-fi.com/bridgetwebber