A Clear-Cut Guide

How to Prevent Work From Home Exhaustion

If you’re constantly tired, this one’s for you.

Ren D
Wholistique
Published in
6 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Photo by Mehrpouya H on Unsplash

I’ve worked from home for the past 8 years to better manage my personal and professional lives. Having the benefit of working from home pre-Covid, I had a routine that was productive and manageable.

Enter Covid. With the kids and husband home, my previously identified schedule has gone out the window. I now always have something to do, or someone to help, during my breaks.

Being at home so much has taken it’s toll. We are working in our bedrooms, living rooms and kitchens. Those with offices are sharing their space with a child, or two.

When we take breaks, we do house work. We make ourselves and our kids lunches. We put away dishes. We put in a load of laundry. We let the dog out. Rinse and repeat.

Day after day, we do the same.

We are exhausted.

We’re tried of being home. We’re tired of our children being home. We’re tired of not seeing extended family, friends and coworkers.

We’re not focused on our health. We’re too tired to exercise. We don’t see a point. Where can we find time? We are always working.

--

--

Ren D
Wholistique

Jill of all trades, master of none. I write about self-awareness, personal growth, life lessons, and parenting.