I Walked 2 Hours Daily For 70 Days — Here’s What I Learnt

I go for an hour-long walk every morning and evening

Shailja Dwivedi
Wholistique
3 min readFeb 17, 2023

--

Photo by Geran de Klerk on Unsplash

I’d lived a sedentary lifestyle for years. But recently, I faced what being an adult means. I redesigned my entire lifestyle after a serious health complication.

I’ve been walking for 2 hours daily for 70 days and counting. It’s my way to get my health back on track.

I do this to ensure my body functions well.

My mom, who is double my age, can carry a 25kg bucket full of water everyday with ease. But me? I can only imagine doing so. My mum also never had to depend on medications, whereas I had to be on drugs for 4 months straight.

Walking has helped me change my life. Here are the things that I learnt along the way.

To Carry Myself with Grace

People, especially girls, often look down while walking. I guess it’s possible to develop love for roads and cement.

But in the end, the world is more beautiful when I walk with my chin up, shoulders straight and with a confident stride.

To Become More Time-Efficient

It’s not hard for me to wake up at 6:00 am. I used to take a bath, breakfast, and then I’d start studying or working by 8:30 am.

Today I wake up early, and then, I…

  • Meditated
  • Took a shower
  • Went on my hour-long walk
  • Had breakfast
  • Sunbathed

It turns out that I am able to do so much more in the morning hours with the exact same time I used to squander before. The best part? You can do it too. Just avoid overthinking it and maintain a sense of direction throughout the entire day.

To Silence My Self-Doubts

Walking has given me a more pragmatic outlook on life.

If you don’t listen to your emotions, you won’t snooze the alarm. You’ll go out and follow through with your plans. And if you don’t second-guess yourself, you can pull off much more.

To Ignore the Noise

While my morning walks are fresh and soothing, people love poking their nose in my business.

One such instance happened when an uncle made an invasive comment about me. “So thin! How did you lose so much weight in such a small span of time? Eat something…” (this was a taunt, to be clear).

I didn’t talk back. I focused on my strength and ignored the insult.

Shut out, ignore, and carry on.

To Believe in My Potential

When I was younger, I loved running. But due to my sedentary lifestyle, my heels would ache. And eventually, I lost my will and ability to run.

After much walking, I gave it a shot again.

I DID IT. My heels were okay too.

I was on a cloud nine. And I realized my potential is infinite, I just had to start improving myself.

Brainstorm: What are things you been telling yourself you can’t do? Maybe it’s time to give them a try.

To Take Care of My Body

Walking more and preparing my breakfast made me realize: we can digest our food in a much better way if we move more.

When you eat real and fresh food and move enough, your body functions well. If your body functions better — so does your life.

Bottom Line

Walking is an excellent way to connect with nature.

Get great ideas, reflect on your life, relax, feel fresh and even lose extra pounds. Schedule more walking sessions with yourself and you’ll never regret it.

Subscribe to my weekly newsletter — Letters by Shailja. Where I share 5 tips to build Financial, Physical, Mental, Emotional & Spiritual Strength. And get a surprise gift too :)

If you have any writing needs, DM me.

Don’t forget to follow my Medium page for such insights.

--

--