No One Ever Talks About Their ‘Fairytale Divorce’

I’ll go first; I wish my ex-husband was more like Mrs. Doubtfire.

Divina Grey
Wholistique

--

Photo by Pixabay

It’s an eye-opening experience to listen to other women vent about their divorce story and hear how it all went down. After twenty-four years of marriage (and two days after dropping their youngest son off at college), my friend’s Was-band declared,

“I don’t want to do this anymore. I want to be able to come and go as I please without having to answer to anyone (*ahem* you, my wife). I want my freedom. And I want a divorce.”

Nice.

Unfortunately, her story is what inspired me to zoom out on my situation and quietly think to myself, at least he was honest with you and took responsibility for his feelings even if it wasn’t what you wanted to hear.

That night, while my wheels were feverishly spinning, I came across an article titled, How I Cheated On My Wife that I secretly hoped was my ex-husband writing under a pen name. Sadly, no dice. Michael Sands turned out to be much more clever than my ex. At the time, the bitter truth wouldn’t have been any less crushing than it already was to accept what was happening right before my eyes. In…

--

--

Divina Grey
Wholistique

Mom 💕| Writer ✍ | Musician 🤘🎸| CNA 💜 | Sporty Spice 🏋️‍♀️🚵‍♀️ | Free Spirit ✌🏳️‍🌈 | Coffee Connoisseur ☕ | divinasrelease@gmail.com 💻📧