HUMOR

Not Even Death Can Do Us Part: Celebrating 10 Happily-Long Years Of Marriage

But if you try it, Death, I’m taking you with me

Daniel Williams
Wholistique
Published in
10 min readApr 20, 2024

--

by author

Before I could marry my Mindy, I first had to defeat her son.

He was 8-years-old at the time, right on the cusp of achieving the capacity for adult-level hatred, so I had to defeat him fast, to unequivocally bowl him over to death with his love for me.

My attempt conveniently occurred in three acts:

The Meeting
The Dinner
And
The Home Inspection

ACT I: The Meeting

Mindy and I had been dating a few weeks before she decided I was ready to meet him.

The Sawyer.

She invited me to her house for the first time, positioned me in the dining room, then went upstairs to summon him.

I heard the squeak of his door. A pause. Then footsteps on the stairs, the sound of Mindy’s light steps swallowed up by the bare-footed thunder stepping of a boy who does not bend his knees, for he hates change more than a satyr hates pants.

Mindy led into the room a thin boy with a huge head of Jupiter-hurricane hair, a boy in blue shorts and nothing more, which made our…

--

--

Daniel Williams
Wholistique

A poverty-stricken, soft Batman by night. Illustrator and writing teacher by day. Previously: McSweeney’s, Slackjaw.