These 4 Steps Can Help You Manage Your Anxiety During The Pandemic

How the mindfulness practice of RAIN can protect your mental health during the coronavirus crisis

Emily PG Erickson
Wholistique

--

Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

In beforetimes, the screentime bar graph on my iPhone, which shows how much time I spend on the device, was a neat collection of short rectangles. I took pride in my self-control. I enjoyed putting my energy elsewhere.

And after the coronavirus?

Well, on a typical June morning, I hit the Time Limit warning I programmed on Twitter before I finished my coffee, and, as I sipped, I thumbed right past the OK button and mashed hard on “Ignore Limit For Today.”

There are stories I could tell about why my phone use shot up so dramatically. I was reading the news! I was learning about important things! The more I knew, I reasoned, the safer my family would be from this terrible virus.

Even as I told myself those stories, I knew I was a liar. Those stories were, at best, only partly true. The truest story was that staying so connected to my phone kept me disconnected from my feelings. I was numbing out.

One month in, 56% of Americans said the coronavirus negatively impacted their mental health.

--

--

Emily PG Erickson
Wholistique

Former mental health researcher sharing insights about psychology and parenting. www.emilypgerickson.com