When You Declutter Your Mind Instead of Your Things

When it’s your brain that could use a reboot

Melissa Frost
Wholistique

--

I am a fairly boring person. Rather than kicking off the new year and new seasons with dry months and a long list of things I want to achieve, my life goals are more linear.

I like life how it is, at my pace. I like seeing how it is all progressing, moving forward. Sometimes up, sometimes down, in a natural way.

If you know me, you probably know I like less and I don’t have too much clutter lying around. When writing about minimalism and clutter, it is often the things we see that we talk about. Having those open, bright spaces with a few items you love and treasure. Sometimes trendy, nordic designs.

There is another aspect to clutter I don’t hear too much about.

The other day, my head felt like a mess. There was so much going on. Schedules, practical things. Cooking, driving. Packing lunch bags. And then there were all the other things. Seeing what’s happening in Ukraine. Family members sick with COVID. It was simply too much going on, and it was piling up everywhere, in my brain.

It was mind clutter at its best.

Invisible clutter

--

--

Melissa Frost
Wholistique

Journalist. Mom. Wife. Norwegian in the U.S. Minimalist-ish.