The Best Kind of Dream Job Is the One You Struggled to Get

Here are some not-so-obvious challenges you might face.

Marcus Chan
Wholistique

--

How to Land Your Dream Job
Image designed by the author.

For as long as I took writing seriously, I had one goal — to find a company that will pay me to write. In return, I’ll produce the best articles to the extent of my ability with the promise of getting better.

A few weeks ago, I received an offer with this exact deal and it came from a company I look up to.

It’s everything I’ve pictured for years, and a little more.

I spent some time thinking, and here is what got me here.

The hardest thing in the world

My first application went out earlier this year.

A dozen interviews and a handful of unpaid assessments later, I landed myself two offers.

Both from companies that had a dire shortage of talents, but not of money. These guys were ready to write huge paychecks every month. Yes, these companies exist.

The issue is, they weren’t the company I wanted.

The opening role at the company I wanted came a little later, and I had just started talking to them. There was one assessment and three more interviews to go.

--

--

Marcus Chan
Wholistique

Writer by title, storyteller at heart. Writing about life, money, and work. Newsletter: https://marcuschan.substack.com/ Ebook: https://bit.ly/3PgV5HH