I was lost, but I found myself in Turkey…

Ahmed Alhassan
Why am I in Turkey?
2 min readDec 26, 2017
Photo Taken By: Ferdi Ferhat Özsoy

“Men are usually lost and found during war. Man finds himself when he’s pushed to the limit, and thus, becomes the greatest he can be.” — Ahmed Alhassan

His Story

I can say I was a lost man. I couldn’t find my way till I came to Turkey, so I can confidently say that I found myself here. When home, I suppose like millions of others like me, I didn’t think so far ahead about the future; It just wasn’t of my concern, of course, until everything happened.

Well, I was raised in Syria by an educated family. My father was a doctor, and as being an engineer or a doctor were the most valued career choices, I’ve faced some pressure in that aspect. When I came to Turkey, three years ago, I started studying computer engineering at Bahçeşehir University, but I failed almost every exam, which made me rethink it all, and in turn, change my major to international trade and business. The moment I decided to seek and study what I loved, I can say that it was the happiest moment of my life.

Before graduating high school, I worked for three years with my uncle, which spurred a question within me — do I have to study high school, get a diploma, and get into university just like everyone else? At that time, I didn’t see why I needed an education, but I wanted to do more.

Photo Taken By: Ferdi Ferhat Özsoy

Currently, I live in the same house with multiple strangers. I think it’s better for me. When I was in Syria, I used to be shy, and I didn’t have any life experience, but now that all changed. Now, I communicate quite well. All thanks to the things I’ve been through. Though I am currently living off the money that my family sends me, I hope to find a good job in a good company in import and export.

My message to the world would be: Please, try to stop the world in Syria. No matter where you are, who you are, or where you come from, please try. We are all humans, and we are same under our skins and beliefs, after all. I’ve gone through and lived stressful situations, and I wish no one else would go through the same things.

--

--