The Story of Resolution

Ferdi Ferhat Özsoy
Why am I in Turkey?
4 min readJan 2, 2018

--

Photo Taken By:

Meeting and chatting with you greatly affected me. Wish you success in life. —

I was living near Damascus when i was a child. We were having a good life there. Most of the time my father prevented us from going outside. We were staying together with my brother at home.

As the time passed, I started to get bored and wanted to see the real life. That summer, I worked at a dessert factory. It was really good. Then I started middle school. I was always the first or the second student of the class in the primary school and it continued like that in the middle school. I was the fourth most successful student at school. I attend to many different jobs at high school which was wrong. Even at winter, I was working at nights. I started to work in a perfumery until I had a disease which was related to perfumes. I wanted to study medicine or dentistry at the university. I told myself that either i’m going to select one of these departments or am I going to study for two years. I didn’t manage to score enough for the medicine or dentistry faculties therefore, I selected a two-yeared school. I started to study anesthesia. In Syria, students who are attending two-yeared school can switch to 4 or more yeared schools if they manage to have high grades. I scored enough however my faculty had less then 15 graduates and I couldn’t continue to study. Before my graduation, different hospitals offered me jobs. I applied to one of them and started working. Then I applied another. I was working day and night at two different jobs. They offered me another job from a newly opened hospital. I worked there as an operator. I had a good salary. After a couple of time, I started to work in a big hospital. I was working so hard that i could only spend 1 or 2 days at home every week. Also the doctors were earning much more then us. It was very unpleasant. Because of that, I started planning to study in Turkey. With one of my friends, I went to a Turkish class. It wasn’t very efficient. Brother of a friend of mine knew Turkish. We went to Turkey with him. The war was also about to start.

Photo Taken By:

With this trip, my journey to Turkey was started. We went to Gaziantep with my friend and I applied to a university there. Unfortunately, they didn’t accepted me and I returned to Syria. At these days, I though the war was about to start so I as nervous about the situation. I wanted to send my family to Turkey where they will be safer. I wanted to work in Syria and send them money from here. The life was very hard for me. My parents weren’t working. My younger brother was going to have his military service and my older brother was still having it. I was working very hard like I did before. I wanted to be a dietician and I was preparing for the university exams again. I was working at a university hospital at Homs. I was very dangerous to go there because of the war. This situation continued for 9 months and i had the worst days of my life in this period.

At last I succeeded in the university exam and started studying there. At the same time I sent my family to Turkey. It made me feel good to know that they were safe. I was both working and studying at the same time. I finished my freshman year. After that I went to Turkey. I was really enjoying the days Iwas having in Syria however, I was missing my family. I crossed the border by walking. After a long journey, I went to Turkey.

Photo Taken By:

My brother was already living here. I moved to his house. In my early in Turkey, I couldn’t perform my job. I started to work in a pharmacy instead. I knew neither Turkish nor English. The two ladies that I was working with in the pharmacy helped me a lot. I also started to took Turkish lessons again. After 4 or 5 months, I became an advanced speaker. I applied to different universities to study medicine and enrolled to a university in Kocaeli. After that, I enrolled to Istanbul University. I am a senior now. I never quite working while I was studying. I did various jobs such as consulting, trade and I even involved in real estate businesses. I have a fiancee. I love her.

My message to the world is this: every nation has good and bad people. We shouldn’t judge these nations by only considering these bad ones. People are born by having in equal rights however in the end, aren’t we all humans ?

--

--

Ferdi Ferhat Özsoy
Why am I in Turkey?

Onların bir hikayesi var | They have a story | Creator/Editor of www.nedenturkiyedeyim.com | www.whyaminturkey.com |Co-founder of @dogrulukpayicom | @ogddernegi