Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

What Plants Teach us About Healthy Collaboration in the Workplace

Plants have evolved complex networks of cooperation, communication, and mutual support that allow them to thrive in even the most challenging environments.

Ciarra Jones, MTS
3 min readMar 30, 2023

--

I am a gardener and plants are the soul of my diversity, equity and inclusion work. In spending time with my plants and in nature, I am able to better clarify what healthy connection and collaboration look like in the workplace

As a gardener, I understand that a successful harvest requires collaboration between myself, plants, bugs, insects, and even bacteria. Gardens are synergistic. As a gardener, I never see the harvest I produce as a singular endeavor, instead, I see gardening as a group project.

For example, last year I planted my squash plants too close together and as a result, the bees could not reach my plants. In order for my squash to thrive, I needed to create a better pathway for the bees. Once the bees and I began working in tandem with one another, my squash plants started to produce fruit.

In workplaces, we often incentivize competition in favor of collaboration. This comes from our broader societal belief that cream rises to the top. We believe that in fostering competition we are…

--

--

Ciarra Jones, MTS
Company Culture Matters

My writing explores DEI, religious inclusion, social justice, and personal development.