Signing Off (For Now)

Anjali Walia
Why Didn’t I Know This
1 min readMay 19, 2020

As the school year has come to a close, so has, for now at least, my time writing for this blog. I could not have done it without my mentors at Women’s Health Research at Yale, who have guided and supported me every step of the way.

This has truly been quite a year. From the dangerous effects of alcohol on women to the importance of strength training, I shared findings that made me wonder, “Why didn’t I know this?” I was able to celebrate important milestones, like the 50th anniversary of coeducation at Yale College and the creation of the first Congressional Women in STEM Caucus. Writing about the importance of verifying wellness industry claims and minimizing unnecessary antibiotic use, I shared lessons I had learned along my own health journey. Finally, I had the opportunity to write about the COVID-19 pandemic unfolding in front of me and voice my support for affected groups.

Throughout this year, I have discovered an undeniable truth: that sex-and-gender differences exist in almost every aspect of health. I could not be more inspired to apply this knowledge to my future research and medical practice. Thank you so much for coming along this journey with me!

--

--

Anjali Walia
Why Didn’t I Know This

Anjali is a junior Molecular, Cellular, Development Biology major in Saybrook who is passionate about women’s health and thrilled to write for the WHRY blog!