We need more bad burgers! — and this was mine.

Dan Willis
Why Digital
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2018
Teodora of Lab on why we need more bad burgers

I attended an event yesterday hosted by our good friends BIMA and Lab at the Ivy, London called Humans Behaving Badly.

Of all the experience and insight taken onboard, one thing resonated incredibly well for me.

Teodora Mişcov, her talk was around the fact that everyone needs to eat more bad burgers… She spoke of a story of when a dope fuelled Robert Downey Jr decided to stop at Burger King for a burger. The actor, who had been publicly plagued by drug problems throughout his career, at that moment had an epiphany. One which changed his life for the good. Read it here if you fancy.

What resonated so well with me with the story was I, 3 years ago, was in a similar situation. But in my story, that burger experience, that life changing event that took place, was the birth of my son.

What that moment brought into my life was something that I had never had before… pure selfless purpose.

It led me to leave the agency I was working for and subsequently start Why. To create something that my boy would be proud of me to grow as he grew.

For anyone else who has had that moment of clarity; whether it involved getting clean, leaving your career to start something yourself, I hope you read this with a smile. For those that are yet to have that bad burger experience, I look forward to hearing about it when it happens.

Thanks

Dan - danwillis@whydigital.net - whydigital.net

--

--

Dan Willis
Why Digital

Brand strategy and business transformation consultant based in Bournemouth. Focused on helping businesses find their purpose, and embrace it to succeed.