Why I Care: 2 mothers’ stories.

A mother’s life is committed to caring for her child. She will do whatever is necessary in exchange for a healthy and happy future.

For mothers whose child has been diagnosed with a brain tumor, the battle may sometimes feel unwinnable. Yet these moms keep going.

Mother’s Day gives us the opportunity to honor these women — fierce warriors who advocate not just on their child’s behalf, but for all kids with brain tumors. Women like Kelli Tracy and Cristy Battle, who are spreading awareness about childhood brain tumors by sharing their stories of “Why I Care.”

Read their reasons for fighting for futures, then share your own by leaving a response at the end of this article or posting your reply on social media with the hashtag #CareCureThrive.

Why I Care. by Kelli Tracy

Kelli’s son Matthew

I care for other parents who are traveling the path with a child diagnosed with a brain tumor because my son is no longer here for me to care for.

My son became an Eternal Star on Mother’s Day 2009, so I have a special place in my heart for my fellow brain tumor mommas. No parent should have to experience the loss of their child and the loss of their child’s milestones — First words. First steps. First day of school. Last day of school. First date. First kiss. Driving a car. Graduation. Marriage.

I fight and care so that no other child misses their milestones. So no other parent sees their child’s peers experiencing those milestones and grieves. I fight and care so other parents will know that someone understands. Someone cares for their child right along with them. So that there is HOPE.

Why I Care. by Cristy Battle

Christy’s son Connor

As a parent of a young child who is currently battling a brain tumor, my role and primary responsibility is to care for and advocate not only for my son, but for all of the families currently affected by a brain tumor diagnosis.

The Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation became that lasting impact for my family and began our journey to make a difference in the lives of young children battling brain tumors. The momentum of giving continues within my classroom as I am a high school teacher. Because of the relationships I have built with my students, they are constantly seeking ways to help promote awareness and support the cure for brain tumors.

My family looks forward to the events created and founded by the PBTF that help shine a light on STAR families and the fight against brain tumors. Thank you for letting us be a part of such a wonderful family and allowing us to share our journey!

This Mother’s Day, consider making a gift to the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation to honor the women who have cared for you. Donate to our Butterfly Fund and your gift will directly support families in need of emergency financial assistance after a child’s brain tumor diagnosis.

--

--

Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation
Why I Care. Cure. Thrive.

We’re the leading nonprofit solely dedicated to children with brain tumors and their families. Join us in fighting the deadliest childhood cancer.