I Came Home Crying Today

Betty Mutimba
Girl Fight
Published in
2 min readAug 25, 2017

Nope, not because my best friend is in pain and I can’t make it stop.

Not because I feel like an impostor in my own life all the time.

Not because my sister is moving really far away for a year and possibly longer.

Not because I’m broke all the time and it feels like it will never end.

Not because I barely get enough sleep lately.

Not because [insert your real life situation]

I came home crying today because it’s too much. It’s everyday. It’s everywhere. It’s subtle. It’s obvious. It’s violent. It’s insulting. It’s abusive. It’s emotionally draining. It fucks up my peace of mind.

I don’t know how to make it stop.

This entitlement that men have. Where making a woman’s life hell is their default setting. Not just the men in our lives: dads, brothers, cousins, uncles, workmates, bosses, neighbors. But random ass men in the street. Men that don’t know you and you don’t know them. Men that are not even a blip in your life’s trajectory.

I want to be specific and list as many incidences of harassment as I can, but I don’t even know where to start. I don’t know that I can articulate the absurdity that goes on out there. I just want to cry and find “God” and make “him” explain why these asshole men are allowed to live beyond the age of 15.

--

--