What’s Wrong With You?

Muthoni
Girl Fight
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2016

What’s wrong with you?

Yes you, who won’t let me walk in the streets in peace.

You who must insist on talking to me, yet I haven’t shown the slightest interest in holding a conversation.

You who decides to call me names when I decide to not respond to your greetings.

You who will follow me and insist that I talk to you.

You who will not let me sit in peace in the matatu or any other public space.

What’s wrong with you?

Yes you, who sniggers when your friend makes a derogatory comment about women.

You who lol’s in that text conversation when your friend threatens to rape a girl.

You who hi 5’s your friend when he tells you how he slept with that girl who was wasted.

You who’s proud that you had sex when you were 9 or 12 or 13, while refusing to acknowledge that it was in fact rape.

You who shares tweets about taking home drunk girls.

You who shares memes of ‘fisis’ when they see drunk girls or girls who’ve been left behind by their crew.

You who won’t call out your friends douchey behaviour.

What’s wrong with you?

Yes you, who thinks that I am a second class citizen just because I have a vagina.

You who thinks I have nothing better to offer than cooking and cleaning up after you.

You who will emotionally and physically break me till I am a shell of my former self.

You who pretends to be a feminist online but on WhatsApp groups you’re a misogynist.

You who hides behind your privilege and says if it has never happened to you, it doesn’t exist.

You who will only offer me a seat at the table when I grovel or if it paints you in good light.

You who doesn’t believe in sexual harassment, rape culture, equality and justice.

--

--

Muthoni
Girl Fight

Eccentric | Thespian | Reader | Food lover | Ex Student