Public Speaking: I Won’t Back Down

--

The subject of public speaking is one of the only things that I have been consistently terrible at since I stepped out of the womb. I can compare this to hula hooping, as I see people just like me do it all the time and I could still never learn from them and master it. Maybe I am over-exaggerating how bad I actually am at this particular soft skill, but I have felt like this all my life.

In a couple years I will be entering the work force. I mean the real work force, not the one that includes lifeguarding private pools and cleaning pools worth up to $500,000. When I am finally entered into this world, I want to be able to express the ideas I have in front of a meeting room without getting a nervous rush.

I am not sure how I will be able to beat this weakness, but I have every intention to. I am amazed at the people who have actual speech impediments who can get up there and talk to thousands of people in a seminar. I am gifted with good speech and conversational skills, but here I am talking about me not being able to speak in front of people professionally.

With the research I conduct, I plan to study the habits and rituals people have used in the past to beat the same problem I face. Right now this soft skill is my worst enemy, and I have full intentions of leaving this class able to at least participate without that feeling in my chest. I know there is no easy way out, but I will stand my ground and I won’t back down. These are not cliches, just some great words from the great Tom Petty.

--

--