HUMANS OF

UW-Eau Claire
Why UW-Eau Claire?
Published in
9 min readFeb 16, 2015

--

STUDY ABROAD

The 2015 People and Places Study Abroad Photo Contest

With one in four students studying abroad for at least a semester, UW-Eau Claire continues to be a national leader in providing students from all majors with meaningful international experiences. You can choose from 50 exciting places in all parts of the world to study and explore as you immerse yourself in new cultures and experiences.

Through its annual Study Abroad Photo Contest, the Center for International Education and Council on Internationalization and Global Engagement are showcasing the many amazing experiences Blugolds are having as they navigate new cultures, explore new worlds and make new friends.

The following are the top 10 photos that were selected from the submissions for this year’s contest, beginning with a photo titled “Mi Princesa” that was taken by first-place winner Erin Callahan. Erin took her winning photo in fall 2014 while studying abroad in Costa Rica and Nicaragua.

You can view the top 10 photos — and many more — at the Humans of Study Abroad display on the third floor of the Davies Student Center.

Mi Princesa

Erin Callahan | Costa Rica/Nicaragua, Fall 2014

The little girl in this photo is my host niece, Allison. I had the opportunity to stay in her home with her, her mother and grandparents while I was abroad. This photo was taken on Independence Day in Costa Rica. I remember Allison parading around in her dress at home twirling in circles. She even made me put on a dress so I could spin with her. She was so excited to dance for everyone in the parade. Allison, who is 3 years old, was always full of energy and excitement. I remember her squeals of joy as we ran around the house playing “princesses.” Allison and I grew very close when I was abroad. According to my host family, whenever I would go on weekend trips Allison would constantly ask when I would be home. This photo represents the Humans of Study Abroad because Allison was the center of my family. My host family and I grew closer playing little games like dress up and having tea parties with Allison. It was on honor to have lived in their home and now after studying abroad I not only have one family but two.

A View Among the Clouds

Caitlin Ferris | ISEP Chile, Fall 2014

It is not a simple task to sum up the experience of a lifetime in one photo. Each photo that I took while studying in Chile and traveling in South America is incredible. Not because the landscape is amazing or the people are the most kind-hearted beings I have ever met but because of the stories that can be told from each photo. There I am, sitting among the clouds looking down at the incredible ruins of Machu Picchu. This photo was taken at the very beginning of my study aboard journey. My dad and I traveled through South America before I began my semester in Valparaíso, Chile. We saw things like the Christ the Redeemer statue in Rio de Janiero, a World Cup game in Brazil, many Inca ruins throughout Peru but the most unbelievable was climbing the 1,180 foot peak to view the Inca ruins of Machu Picchu from above the clouds. It was breathtaking! I was so grateful to have been able to see this view but even more grateful that I was able to share it with my dad!

Doi Suthep-Pui

Andrew Vue | Thailand Research, Winterim 2015

Paj Ntaub literally translated as “flower cloth” and has many beautiful patterns and designs. These designs can be found on almost anything. Clothing, ornaments, hats, wedding outfits, photos, and New Year celebrations all feature Paj ntaub. Mothers teach Paj ntaub to their daughters at a very young age. Techniques to master require sharp eyes and a steady hand. Originally, the use of Paj ntaub was a way for Hmong people to maintain traditional values and culture. This is imperative because the Hmong culture is mainly an oral one. As time passed, the Hmong were forced to sell Paj ntaub as a means to survive in the Thailand refugee camps. Today, use of Paj ntaub has become a mixture of both. Undisputedly, Paj ntaub is used by Hmong people as a way to preserve the Hmong culture and have a sense of pride. Due to Hmong Diaspora, Paj ntaub designs can wide-ranging depending on different regions of the world. But no matter how diverse the designs there are, Paj ntaub will always be a pillar on what it means to be Hmong.

Personal Legends

Britton Clarke | Lorenzo de’ Medici, Italy, Spring 2014

Taken in the small nooked town of Eze, France, it was evident that there was a lot of history within this medieval village. With no map in hand, I came upon what looked like a hole in the wall and inside I caught a man, deep in thought and passion, in his wood shop. Inspired by The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, I felt I witnessed a man fulfilling his Personal Legend. By allowing yourself to listen to your soul and doing what truly makes you happy, you are living your life to its fullest purpose and thus achieving your Personal Legend. “Its the simple things in life that are the most extraordinary.”

Lost in the Canals

Alisa Polzin | Valladolid, Spain, Fall 2014

While in Venice, Italy, my friend Deborah and I had the fortunate event of getting lost. Now why would I use the word fortunate? Being completely turned and twisted around in the maze of canals of Venice made us let go of time. Each turn after crossing one of the many bridges held a new surprise — a quaint square with vendors selling flowers, old churches with ornate bell towers, or the amazement of walking down a path and realizing it literally just drops off into a canal. Instead of worrying about getting to the destination of St. Mark’s Square, we raised our hands in surrender and let the mystery of Venice envelope us.

Happiness is Pure

Haley McKee | Social and Environmental Justice in Guatemala, Winterim 2015

We may appear different physically, dress differently and live vastly different in our day to day lives, but we are alike in many ways. We all strive for food in our stomachs, a healthy pain-free existence and a better life for our children. I found that child’s laughter is universal. A smile, an acknowledging nod, a connection made with eye contact cuts across our cultures. I learned the most from the Guatemalan children I encountered. Each one of them impressed me as hard-working, humble, inviting, and pure loving. Learning from their stories, actions and smiles, and taking time to stop, listen, and live in the moment was an experience I will never forget.

Climb mountains not so the world can see you, but so you can see the world.

Caitlin Ferris | ISEP Chile, Fall 2014

One of the last photos that were taken from my study abroad experience was here in Torres Del Paine National Park in Patagonia, Chile. This place is by far the most beautiful landscape that I have ever hiked in. It was nearly impossible to take a bad photo. I ended my study abroad semester on an all time high. During these treks through Torres del Paine, I thought about how much I have learned and changed (in a good way!) while living in Chile for five months. The Chilean culture and people taught me how to be patient, how to appreciate the beauty of nature and how to just relax and not worry about a thing. A common phrase I heard while down there was “tranquila” meaning “calm.” Living and adventuring in Chile was the most “tranquila” yet incredible experience I have ever had and I wouldn’t trade a moment of it!

Memories in Stone(henge)

Alisa Polzin | Valladolid, Spain, Fall 2014

Traveling abroad is a wonderful way to meet new people. I had the opportunity to make friends with other students and travelers from all over the world. However, two people I was able to “meet” were actually my travel companions from Eau Claire. I was already very good friends with Deborah and Julian before we went to study abroad in Spain. But back-packing for a week and a half around Europe made me realize that there was still a lot that I did not know about them! I could not have asked for two better people with whom to travel. Through rain, missed buses, getting lost, and running through an airport to catch our flight, we made countless memories together and really strengthened our friendship. And when I look back at all the mishaps and goof-ups, all I can do is smile. This experience made me realize how lucky I am to have these two amazing humans as friends

Epiphany Celebration

Natalie Donovan | Lorenzo de’ Medici, Italy, Winterim

This picture was taken in front of the Palazzo Pitti, also know as the Pitti Palace, on January 6th, 2015. The Renaissance dressed man in the photograph was among hundreds of parade participants celebrating the Christian holiday called the Epiphany. For me, I did not know much information about the holiday; however, it was such an amazing experience getting to see the excitement from the performers and crowd. Although this was a small part of my journey abroad, it was one of my favorite events because I was surrounded by local Italians and I could feel their energy spread throughout the town.

285

Yan Lin Lee | Central European Travel Seminar, Summer 2014

285 — the number of steps on a steep, narrow spiral staircase to arrive at this vantage point of Berlin. Taken through an opening on the golden fence on top of the Victory Column, this photo shows the lush greenery of the Tiergarten (an urban public park), the iconic Brandenburg Gate (at the end of the street), and the Berlin TV Tower (the thin, tall structure in the horizon). Berlin was the first ever destination in Europe I stepped foot on, and this shot is a reminder of not only what I’ve explored (we saw all of the three places named above) but what is still to be explored.

Have questions or want to learn more? We have experts in the Center for International Education office who work with you from start to finish. Learn more about about studying while seeing the world.

The Study Abroad Photo Contest is sponsored by the Council on Internationalization and Global Engagement, Center for International Education and University Centers.

--

--

UW-Eau Claire
Why UW-Eau Claire?

The official account of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. #UWEC #Blugolds