Become a Mentally Tough Runner

Clint Cherepa
Why We Run…Far.
Published in
3 min readSep 18, 2017
Paul de Gregorio

One more mile, one more workout, keep on going and don’t give up because I know you can endure to the end. You think you can’t go any further and that you are at your wits end. But, I know better than you do. Why? Because I am your mind and I am stronger than your body. I am the one who decides when you have reached your limits. I will tell you when to stop. I am tough. That is, if you have trained me to be tough. Train me right and I will help you to be the athlete you deserve to be and can be.

Here’s how:

To start, make a list of why you’re mentally tough. Everyone has the potential to be mentally tough, but not everyone decides to train their brain. Your list should include what you have accomplished and goals that you would like to achieve.

Stay away from weak goals. Instead, set goals around the things you are not good at. If you are a natural on short road races set your sites on a longer race or trail race. If you can fly on the flat roads, but the hills demolish you, start training on the hills. Focus on your weakness, and soon you will turn your weakness into strength.

Show me five of your closest friends and I will tell you who you are. Surround yourself with mentally tough role models, and I will tell you that you are on your way to mental toughness. The world is full of mentally strong athletes. Find them, study their habits, their mindsets and follow their lead.

Now, I want you to learn when to redirect your efforts instead of quitting. There will be times when you feel like quitting. Don’t. Quitters do not finish. When you are at mile 21 of your marathon and you want to quit, redirect your efforts. Focus on the finish line, not your pain. Imagine the joy of finishing.

Do something every day that you have been putting off. So you can’t stand speedwork, then I tell you, run a speed session today. You dread dialing in your nutrition, sit down today and figure out a smart eating plan. Are you putting off signing up for your first 5km, 10km, marathon or ultramarathon? Don’t wait any longer, flex your brain and sign up.

To successfully get things done you need to control your environment by minimizing distractions. In this technology glutted world please find the balance between usefulness and overuse. There are days when you should leave the tech at home.

Going minimal will allow you to practice mindfulness and breathing techniques. While training, try to laser focus on the here and now. How do your muscles feel? Are you breathing short and heavy? Should you speed up or slow down?

Training is not easy. It takes focus, persistence and discipline. Trust me; it is worth it when you visualize successful outcomes for difficult tasks. Do you have a hard workout scheduled? See yourself feeling strong at the finish.

I have been witness to your body saying that you can’t go on, and you need to slow and possibly stop. I have only one thing to say to that, stop listening to yourself and start talking to yourself. Tell yourself you can go on, because you can. Tell yourself there is no need to slow down.

Everybody has advice, so listen to all feedback but take action selectively. Some feedback is worth its weight in muscle, but not all is worth taking action. You are an individual, so figure out what works for you to become mentally tough.

Do you feel weak? I will make you strong. Do you feel strong? I will make you stronger.

Inspiration for this essay was taken from the infographic (see below) of Dr. Duncan Simpson, and Adam Morris @BelievePerform.

Dr. Simpson is an Assistant Professor in Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology and is the Coordinator of the Undergraduate Sport, Exercise and Performance Psychology Program. https://www.barry.edu/hpls/faculty/simpson.html

We have his permission to use the following infographic:

--

--

Clint Cherepa
Why We Run…Far.

Running, writing, and coaching; hoping that runners everywhere, keep getting stronger. Contact me for a free coaching consult--strongerrunners@gmail.com