Run One Mile Fast, Then Faster

Clint Cherepa
Why We Run…Far.
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2019
Photo by Theodore K from Pexels

Ultrarunning is my thing. I have been training consistently for running distances above the marathon(50K’s to 100 miles) for about fifteen years. Ultra-centric training involves endless long runs and high mileage weeks, months and years. High volume training leaves little time and energy for speed work and short fast workouts. During these years I have squeezed in a few short training blocks focused on speed-training for 5K or 10K paces, but never dedicated months to running fast miles.

The last time I competed for a fast one-mile time would go back to high school. In gym class we would have the token yearly mile run. I think my best mile was a 6:03. Now my average daily runs of 5–20 miles are done around a 7:30 to 8:00 average per minute mile pace. This is my easy aerobic pace. I will throw in tempo runs with a 6:45 to 7:00 per mile pace. To get down to a 6:00–6:30 pace is a hard effort.

As a forty-year-old runner I understand that slowing down is inevitable, still, the slowing down can be slowed down. And, I am not ready to slow down yet. The ultramarathon distance is still my love, but I know tuning up my top end speed for a mile will have cascading effects to the longer distances.

A couple of days ago I went and did a test fast one-mile. The results: a 5:50 mile. This will be a good gauge to note progress to run my fastest mile.

As a goal I would like to hit a 5:30 mile and my big goal would be breaking the 5:00 minute mile. Definitely a PR that I would be happy with.

The Plan

Jack Daniels’ training plans are my usual go-tos. I like his VDOT system and have seen good results training with his marathon plans adapted for ultra-distances. Many coaches follow Daniels training philosophy with solid results.

I plan on using his 1500 meter to 2-Mile Plan. Found in his book — Daniels’ Running Formula

I plugged in my 5:50 mile PR at runsmartproject.com and came up with a 50 VDOT.

I will use this VDOT to figure out my paces.

Will sharpening up my one-mile PR help me run ultras faster? I will have to wait and see. I do know that this fast training block will be fun and help with my running economy, form and strength.

I would love to know:

Have you ever done a one-mile focused training plan?

What were your results?

--

--

Clint Cherepa
Why We Run…Far.

Running, writing, and coaching; hoping that runners everywhere, keep getting stronger. Contact me for a free coaching consult--strongerrunners@gmail.com