Why We Run: Amanda Septimo

Run for Something
Why We Run (And You Can, Too!)
3 min readSep 10, 2018

--

Amanda Septimo is running for New York State Assembly to represent the South Bronx, the poorest congressional district in the nation. As a lifelong Bronx resident and an experienced public servant, she is ready to speak out and act decisively.

“Martin Luther King said, ‘There is a time when silence becomes betrayal.’ I believe our leaders have betrayed us. Those are strong words and I mean them.”

What’s the problem you want to solve?

For every problem in New York state, my district has the worst of it. We have the worst schools, the worst asthma in the nation, poverty. We are ground zero for every problem. But I think our biggest problem is a crisis in leadership. We need bold leadership, not just at the fringe. These problems can be overwhelming but if we don’t start, we will never succeed.

More specifically, I really want to take on the schools. I have had access to such incredible education and I know that is what has made me who I am. Everyone should have that opportunity and they don’t. There’s no real acknowledgement that it is dishonest to send kids to failing schools for 18 years and then blame them when they aren’t thriving adults. Equity in school funding feels so basic but it doesn’t exist in New York. That’s crazy.

Who are some of the people who have inspired you in life?

Early in my career, I worked at The Point CDC and I was able to see the extraordinary sacrifice that goes into public service. Decommissioning the Sheridan Expressway has been a twenty-eight year effort in my community and finally there was traction but the state’s plan completely misses the point. And these advocates are willing to walk away from $90M because it isn’t what it is supposed to be. To work on something for over 20 years and then have the strength to walk away because the spirit of the work is being violated, that is incredible to me. There was a lot of pressure on them to come to an agreement and they have been firm in their resolve.

Any interesting things happen doorknocking?

I go out canvassing by myself. My family doesn’t like it for safety reasons and my campaign doesn’t like it because I often end up staying places longer. People feel more comfortable when you’re alone and you just end up talking. A few days ago, this woman answers the door and she seems very annoyed and disinterested. After a few minutes she asks me to come in, which really surprises me because of her demeanor. We get into her living room and she starts telling me her son, who is sitting right there, is obsessed with politics and it’s got his head all mixed up. “Tell him to be something useful like an engineer.” I end up moderating this family argument. It turns out he has been hanging out with Republican friends and it has been coloring his perspective in a way that she isn’t comfortable with. He even has anti-immigrant stances, though his family is Dominican. We talked through all of these misconceptions he had and by the end of the night, I gave him my info and told him to come see me for an internship. I can’t wait to be at his college graduation like, “Remember when I met you because you told your mom that all immigrants should be kicked out?”

What has surprised you about running?

Honestly, what has surprised me the most is the strength that I have. Being an insurgent candidate is hard. I get tremendously frustrated when I feel cut off from money and resources because of an aversion some organization might have to disrupting the status quo. I have had legit meltdowns over that. But I keep going. When I am on door seven of doorknocking and I wonder, “How am I even still standing?” You really don’t know how deep you can dig, until you’re there, digging.

To learn more about Amanda Septimo, check out her website: http://www.amandaseptimo.com/

--

--

Run for Something
Why We Run (And You Can, Too!)

Recruiting & supporting young people running for office. Building a Democratic bench. Want to help? hello@runforsomething.net