Dara

Annie H Hartnett
Why Are You Marching?
3 min readDec 30, 2016

My name is Dara, and I am an ordinary citizen. I am originally from New York City where I lived and worked into my mid-adult years. Then I moved to Oakland, California, and stayed for over twenty years. I moved back to the East Coast about five years ago and currently live in Connecticut.

Work-wise, I’ve been an administrative assistant most of my life for some really interesting organizations. I also had my hand in makeup as a makeup artist. I am now retired and do volunteer work with an organization that helps people re-entering society.

I am an ordinary citizen who happens to be a black woman. My formative years were spent with the news blasting civil rights marches and seeing police beating innocent people. Almost every day the news was showing images of a war that made no sense to me. I was growing up in a world that was filled with glaring inequities.

My first awareness of politics was when President Kennedy was assassinated. What kind of world was this? Decades later it was Bush. I wondered how a person like that could get into office. But after a while I just got used to it, feeling like: What was I going to do anyway?

The next time politics caught my attention was when Obama was on the scene. I thought for the first time in my adult life that there was finally someone who actually seemed to care about me! Someone who seemed like he understood “ordinary” people. Before that, I pretty much chalked politics up to something that was separate from my life. Besides, I felt like my voice didn’t matter anyway. It felt like: “They’re going to do what they do no matter what.”

This particular presidential campaign felt like a string of “Are you kidding me?” moments. There are literally no words (and I know many!) to describe how I felt and feel. It’s like I am living as an unwilling participant in a very bad reality show, and I don’t like it.

What are your fears about the incoming administration?

One of my biggest fears is the loss of our civil and human rights. I believe that so many people have worked so hard and long — even losing their lives — in the fight for civil rights and to see and hear those rights being tampered with wakes up a sleeping giant of justice inside me.

My partner, who happens to be white, told me the other day that now he understands how people of color must have felt during the 50’s and 60’s. I thought that was an interesting perspective. He told me he feels hopeless watching what is happening — the manipulation and outright lies going on without consequence.

Have you ever attended any other marches or political events?

I have never attended a political event because I just didn’t care that much and was never moved to do so.

Do you have any reservations about attending the Women’s March?

Not an iota of reservation

Why are you marching now and how are you getting to D.C.?

For the first time in my life, I cannot NOT do anything. I am taking the bus with all my sisters and comrades in Connecticut. I would have to be tied down with strong rope and my mouth taped to keep me from going.

What do you hope the Women’s March on Washington will achieve?

I want this administration to know without a doubt that they are being watched and will have to be accountable for their actions and speech.

[Editor’s note: This interview was conducted via email.]

--

--

Annie H Hartnett
Why Are You Marching?

My new blog, RELATIONS, documents the process of researching and writing the stories of people enslaved by my ancestors in Mississippi and Louisiana.