UrAvgConsumer
WhySettle
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2016

--

My Journey as a Tech YouTuber

My journey as a tech YouTuber hasn’t always been an easy one, but I will say that it’s been very rewarding. I launched my YouTube channel while studying marketing at Drexel University back in 2012. I’ve always been a guy who loves the tech world so I figured, why not turn my passion into a business?

When I was in college, I quickly discovered that there was a need in the YouTube tech community for videos about gadgets that are accessible to everyday people, regardless of age or experience. Before long, UrAvgConsumer was born. From there, I started creating YouTube videos that covered everything from the latest Apple product launches to video game releases. Today, my YouTube channel has over 730,000 subscribers and 67 million video views.

My success continues to come from my passion for the tech industry. Relentless drive is what really got my business off the ground and moving in the right direction. I now work with some pretty incredible brands that allow me to create even more content for my followers. While that’s great, the fact that people actively watch my videos and take what I say with some weight is a true accomplishment and point of pride for me.

Awesome seating area in the lobby of the Hyatt.

Most recently, I was approached by Hyatt Place hotels to participate in their #WhySettle campaign, which is about those who refuse to accept mediocrity and don’t settle in any aspect of their lives. They reached out because of my background and how I built my own brand into something bigger by working hard. Not settling for ‘good enough’, but really working to create something meaningful to my followers is what I continue to do.

This couldn’t have come at a better time, as I was traveling to California to review the new iPhone 7 and needed a place to call home for a week (shout out to the Hyatt Place hotel near LAX in El Segundo). While I was there, I tested out the new iPhone 7 (it’s pretty awesome by the way) and took some great photos in the neighborhood, which made my YouTube review even better. It’s funny, work didn’t really feel like work during my stay — that’s why I think I can credit my success to my passion. I was doing what I love in a place that was comfortable and convenient.

I recently launched my latest vlog of the iPhone 7 on my YouTube channel, which you can check out here: iPhone 7 Week, Skydiving & Unboxings! I’m extremely grateful for the success I’ve had, but I also know that there’s a lot more to do. Stay tuned.

--

--