In dead, she cried: when punk goes messing up with Nike Ardilla

Trian
whyslackers
Published in
3 min readDec 24, 2017
Don’t cry sweetheart

At this point you only see the tip of iceberg. Inspired by punk goes pop dumb movement or maybe Me First and the Gimme Gimmes gimmicks, bunch of weird pop-punk kids are totally obsessed with pop songs, including the legacy from Nike Ardilla.

I do love Nike Ardilla and obviously I’m not alone. So here are some bands, from the bad to really batshit, trying to cover her song, mostly ‘Bintang Kehidupan’ in the genre that I hate so much. Hehe I’m just dick around, hell yes I love pop-punk because it’s one genre that insanely funny.

Up and Down

Oh man, much better than PWG covering Kahitna I guess. They should cover Kahitna in the first place, because that’s your only chance to beat any PWG’s masterpieces.

Masa Kecil

Some fan on Youtube has a good thought, saying why the band doesn’t get many likes and so many people love the shitty songs from ST12 instead. I agreed with this guy, that’s actually our main issue in pop-punk scene, lack of exposure. Plus, you’re totally right, ST12 are horrible. Glad they’re gone. But, uhhh hmmmm I have some news for you my friend, considering the band name I think Masa Kecil is a band for the toddler, and sadly how punker the toddler is, they can’t access Youtube. Hmmm in your case, it’s a political choice called the silent majority.

BoobyTrap

My dummy brain can’t think what shit booby trap is and according to our scientific reference (Wikipedia); a booby trap is a device or setup that is intended to kill, harm, or surprise a person, unknowingly triggered by the presence or actions of the victim. I stop right there and I think if Nike Ardilla was brought to life by Jesus and given a second chance to live on flat earth, she would immediately kill herself by taking ricin when her song was like played by a band called BoobyTrap. When it hits into ears, she knew it, it’s booby trap and blamed the missing space in the band name. Also, big credit to the dude who was willing to do the vague and creepy scream on the end of the song, man it’s a cruel way to fucking kill lord Sweet Baby Jesus in heaven. So yeah, RIP to everyone on earth and heaven, you’re all boobytrapped.

Jendral Kantcil

Hailing from KamPunk Kobak, Tambun, Bekasi, Jendral Kantjil looked promising but they are untalented at singing like all pop-punk bands may do, I mean like dead broke Tom DeLonge would do, so they come up with the one million dollar bitcoin idea; autotuning. Guess what, it’s Alvin Chipmunk on ‘Bintang Kehidupan’ slapped in your face.

Sweet Friends

In case you’re wondering what music they’re playing, it’s called Pop Funk bgt. Let me elaborating it at my level best, it’s a music with a pop like vocalisation style and funk electronic for all squirrels that hate the clusterfuck version of ‘Bintang Kehidupan’ from Alvin Chipmunk. For Nike Ardilla, stay dead sweetheart, nobody even care about humanity anymore.

With Hope

Metalcore, that breakdown part, autotuning, VCD glitch, synyster gates ambition, pop sundanese meets eet sjahranie riffing, congratulations With Hope. Just astonishing. You’re fucking clear cutting edge band and urgently deserve the ICEMA awards for pushing so many boundaries for the sake of music that no shit encourages me taking the ricin to get Nike Ardilla in the grave.

Life Break

Bruh, this nuts! Life Break is the fucking champion! I enjoyed it so much. No fuckhead, it’s not Anggia from Much and I wish they could take a break from this beautiful life to consider the proper title that was supposed to be “Life Break Featuring Anggia Not From Much and rando Gorilla voice — Bintang Kehidupan.docx”.

Shit, now I’m really no longer afraid to die. Where is the goddamn ricin?!

--

--