Slaughter Beach, Dog slays ‘Birdie’

Trian
whyslackers
Published in
2 min readDec 8, 2017
Photo Credit: Jess Flynn

I don’t know about you buddy, but I seriously think Jake Ewald should be the President of the United States. I’m not kidding. Obviously he is way more lovely, kind, and make sense than the current Potus. And he could do well in the campaign with just performing his latest album, Birdie.

Birdie basically would top off my album of the year list, if I made any this year. This album is really good. The combination of folksy and diary storytelling is quite remarkable. Seriously, this is not would you expect from Jake Ewald of Modern Baseball or previous Slaughter Beach, Dog. But if you love the country, indie rock and minimalism elements here, you’re gonna be ok and find gold in this album. His influence is clear; The Weakerthans, Yo La Tengo, Neutral Milk Hotel, maybe Neil Young too. He is also dubbed as the John K. Samson for the Tumblr era. Not surprised, he is getting older now. Wait, he is only 24 years-old? Holy lord, I remember what music I used to listen at that age, crappy easycore bands. That’s dark.

‘Gold And Green’ is a nice touch of country song without sounding like an old man. Then ‘Pretty OK’ gets you the feeling of The Weakerthans chugging riff and rhythm and also the verse. If you want a good follow up, jump into ‘Fish Fry’. That song has more nuance and melody. ‘Acolyte’ closes the album, but I promise you that this special song is going to be memorable and live forever in your ear and they could start a micro universe that way more beautiful than this actual universe we live in. Never squash those beautiful life with cotton buds!

And, I’m gonna stand with my opening, Jake Ewald should be the President of the United States. Oh yeah, Shannen Moser and Walter Etc are the candidate too. They would make the harsh world feels so much tender for sure. Kudos if you agreed with me.

--

--