Trailer: When a Romcom Meets Kaiju Movies in “Colossal”

Trian
whyslackers
Published in
1 min readApr 15, 2017
Anne Hathaway in “Colossal”

At first, I expected Colossal was a traditional romcom like everything you’ve watched before. However I found the unexpected connection between the romcom and Eiji Tsuburaya’s Kaiju movies. You know, the giant monster destroyed the city? Yes, Godzilla to name a few.

From the trailer, I’m so intrigued by this film. I’m curious how Nacho Vigalondo tailors two different cinematic experiences and suspends our believe. The film stars Anne Hathaway as a woman who returns to hometown and makes a relationship with a man who never left the town, played by Jason Sudeikis. And along the way there are two monsters mysteriously appear in South Korea, that unexpectedly reflects their mimics. Strange and ridiculous!

Well, I guess Colossal is similar like Jordan Peele’s Get Out, when they attempt to speak social unease with a scary movie canon. I figured out the monsters may be a metaphor of the screw-up people? Well, that could be misleading, so watch the movie.

--

--