Grit and Persistence

Jordan Christian Lindgren
wicwinona
Published in
4 min readMar 7, 2019

It’s 4 a.m. and the alarm clock buzzes, as countless voices in my head are suggesting I hit the snooze button and go back to sleep. Still in pain because of the workout the day before, my aching muscles lie still in my bed, refusing myself to sit up. Dissuading voices echo in my mind, implying that my effort is meaningless and a waste of time. These thoughts linger, until the sound of my own inner voice reminds me that there was a reason I set that alarm in the first place. My goals remind me it’s time wake up and attack the day. I finally put my feet on the floor, and flick on the overhead light. I waste no time changing into my workout clothes and head downstairs. I soon hear the crisp arctic wind cutting through air. Discouraging thoughts remind me again, that it’s not too late to go back to my warm comfy bed. My conscience tells me to resist this urge, by reaching for my jacket before I leave. I grab an extra pair of gloves and head to the gym.

I walk into my high school’s weight room and turn on the lights. I toss my jacket on the ground, and grab a light resistance band for stretching. The habit of waking up early for workouts has been an ongoing routine for two years after I left high school. The time and effort put in thus far leaves me envisioning how these early morning workouts will soon land me on a college football roster. I remind myself that patience, persistence and timing is all part of my story. Soon I’m able to snap out of my fantasy and remember that I’m here because I’ve got work to do. Wrapping-up my stretches, I make my way toward the nearest workout station. Setting up the bench press, I slap the metal weights on the bar and go to work. For every rep is continuous mental battle of doing things the right way, or the easy way. Disheartening thoughts try and convince me I don’t need to work as hard as I do, considering that no one is around to witness my effort. In between exercises, negative opinions of former coach’s echo in my mind, telling me that I’m too small or too slow to play the game. I slap more weight on the bar, and do another set. Dripping in a pool of sweat, I look at the clock and it’s only 4:30. Each lift is beginning to get tougher, however, I’ve settled in a perfect mindset, aware that I’m here because this is something I really want. With each step comes the decision to take another, despite the discouraging opinions from doubters and naysayers that flutter in my conscience, I keep my vision tunnel, and prepare for my next exercise. During my workout, I begin thinking about the lessons this journey’s teaching me. The idea that working on what’s hard, is of greater value than just working hard. This belief can be applied to all things that assist your personal growth in anything you pursue. For me, a cancerous tumor caused me left side weakness at the age of two, and has left me with a moderate limp whenever I walk or run. Soon, I shift my focus from the weight room to the indoor track where I work on my gate pattern and running form in effort to enhance my speed and mobility. I feel the subtle progress I have made in mobility of my left side; however, I am nowhere close to where I want to be. My own self-doubt leaves me wondering “is this the best this will get.” Among the frustration I realize the importance of not losing heart. Although these thoughts aren’t easily defeated they aren’t invincible. Each day I’d spend a significant amount of time working on this aspect of the game, assuring myself my effort will one day be rewarded and future coaches will be able to look past my injury.

Soon I would find myself performing this same mindset with the Winona State football team, in the Integrated Wellness Complex, every morning at 6 A.M. Nothing compares to the sense of accomplishment I feel during every practice or lifting session. Being able to reflect on how far I’ve come and the pride of not giving up even on my worst days, which seemed like the most logical response. Every practice, lift or film session reminds me that if it weren’t for the struggle and discipline from the early stages of my pursuit to play collegiate football, I’d never understand the importance of the grit and persistence this sport demands from anyone who chooses to play.

Two years before I found myself at Winona State University, my routine of waking up early to spend hours training for a sport instilled a mindset so powerful, that no amount of hardship, irritation or sense of defeat would keep me from pursing my goals of playing collegiate football. I’ve been denied several opportunities due to people putting their limitations on my abilities. However, the obsession to prove myself right has kept me motivated over the years and having the persistence to stay working, without losing heart has built up character and has taught me how to deal with adversity.

--

--