Our Furry Friends

Rachel Fahey
Wide Island View
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2021

Hello everyone! I’d like to start by welcoming the new ALTs to Hiroshima and Wide Island View. I know many of you have been waiting a long time to come and we’re all so excited to have you!

Today I’d like to introduce a couple of places that are not so near, but dear to me. Anyone who knows me well enough, knows how much of an animal lover I am. And being away from my dog these last two years hasn’t been easy. Which got me wondering, how are the rest of you coping without your pets?

As many of you know, there are lots of animal cafés in Japan. Places where you can eat and drink, while enjoying the company of some fluffy friends. So I’d like to introduce two places I’ve come to love.

The first is a cat cafe in our very own Hiroshima city called ねこごこち. About a 5 minute walk from Hiroshima Peace Park, it’s easy to get to and a great little place to just relax.

A problem I’ve found with many animal cafe’s is that the animals aren’t always in good condition. But that’s never been an issue here. The cats here come from a local animal shelter, and the staff are working hard to find new homes for them. Which shouldn’t be hard, as they’re all super sweet.

At ¥800 for 30 minutes, or ¥1100 for 1 hour, it’s definitely affordable. And a great place to visit if you have some time to kill. Please note that masks are required and there’s a limit to the number of customers they will have in store. But it’s worth it!

The other place i’d like to introduce is a little far (for me at least). It’s a little place called Codyのいす in Okayama. So why this place? Because they have dogs! And cats! It’s amazing! When the COVID situation improves, I strongly recommend visiting if you get a chance.

It’s not an animal cafe in the traditional sense. But a place where you can play and interact with the animals, without other distractions. It’s a great place for any animal lovers, and the animals are all well taken care of. And the cast changes every day so you’ll constantly be making new furry friends every time you visit.

Everyone is so friendly, humans and animals alike. But please be sure to wear comfortable clothes if you want to visit. These guys have no qualms about snuggling up in your lap. Not that I’ve ever found that to be a problem.

If you do want to visit, it’s ¥1500 for 1 hour. A very reasonable price, considering the number of animals you get to interact with.

Please note that disposable masks are required and hand sanitiser is available. There is also a limit as to how many customers are allowed at one time, so I recommend getting there for when they open at 1pm. Trust me, you won’t regret it.

How about you guys? Do you have any places you’d like to recommend? If so, feel free to email us at wideislandview@gmail.com. We are also currently recruiting writers and editors. So if you’re interested, please send us an email. We look forward to hearing from you!

Written by Rachel Fahey

--

--