Taste of Home: Import Stores

Rachel Fahey
Wide Island View
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2022

For me, food is a big part of my life. Since coming to Japan, there have been many amazing foods I’ve tried and loved. But at the same time, I’ve found myself missing a lot of the foods from back home. I’m sure I’m not the only one. It’s a source of comfort and familiarity, something a lot of us need. Especially when many of us haven’t been able to travel home because of COVID-19. With that said, I’ve found a few places where I can buy some of the things I’ve been missing. I hope can find what you’re missing here too.

Photo courtesy of foursquare.com

1. Jupiter

Located underground in Shareo near Sogo in Hiroshima city, this in an international food store with a great selection. A personal favourite of mine, it’s a great place to find snacks, baking supplies, sauces and seasonings, drinks, cheese and deli meat. It is a little expensive, but that’s to be expected. And yes, they have real English cheddar. That’s probably the thing I missed the most, so I was so happy to get it again.

Address: 〒730–0051 広島県広島市中区大手町1丁目 地下街409号

2. Kaldi Coffee Farm

Found at Fuchu AEON Mall and Fuji Grand, this import store is similar to Jupiter. Selling a range of snacks, sauces and seasonings, alcohol and cereals, it’s a great place to stock up on many of your favourite goodies. Or even find a few new ones to enjoy.

Addresses:

Fuji Grand Midorii: 〒731–0103 広島県広島市安佐南区緑井1丁目5−2 フジグラン緑井 1F

Fuji Grand Hiroshima: 〒730–0044 広島県広島市中区宝町2−1 フジグラン広島 1F

Aeon Mall Fuchu: 〒735–8588 広島県安芸郡府中町大須2丁目1−1 イオンモール広島府中 1F

3. Don Quixote

Located in Gion, Hatchobori and Ujina. We all know and love Don Quixote. But did you know you can find imported snacks and alcohol here? It makes sense. They sell everything else.

Addresses:

Hatchobori:〒730–0034 広島県広島市中区新天地5−3

Gion: 〒731–0113 広島県広島市安佐南区西原9丁目15−23

Ujina: 〒734–0014 広島県広島市南区宇品西5丁目1−1

4. Every (エブリイ)

I’ve found so many imported goods in エブリイ. I know it’s not a place many people would think to look, but I’ve found salsa, tacos, meat pies and more here for pretty reasonable prices.

5. themeatguy.jp

I highly recommend this online store for imported meats and meat products. Just make sure you have room to cook everything. I personally love their meat pies and sausage rolls, a staple of the UK diet. And they have proper sausages, none of this hot dog nonsense. A big win in my book.

6. Costco (Hiroshima City)

We all knew this was coming. Yes, Costco is great. But, you need a membership. If you have one, great! But if you don’t, well, just let me know. I’m there every few weeks, if you ever want to tag along. So what can you buy at Costco? They have a range of imported meat, cheese, chilled and frozen foods, alcohol, cereal, snacks, medicine, seasonings and sauces. Of course it’s all in bulk, so if you don’t think you can eat everything yourself, maybe split the cost with a friend? My personal recommendations are the pizza, roast chicken and bake at home bread rolls. What are yours?

7. Yamaya

This import shop is famous for its wide selection of imported alcohol. But did you know they also sell food? Enjoy their wide range of beers, spirits and wine and why not pick up some snacks while you’re there?

Addresses:

Funakoshi Minami:〒736–0082 広島県広島市安芸区船越南2丁目6−5

Nishi-ku:〒733–0842 広島県広島市西区井口5丁目19−13

Are there any places you know about? If so, please let us know on Facebook or by emailing wideislandview@gmail.com. Have fun shopping!

Written by Rachel Fahey

--

--