WOMAN CRUSH WEDNESDAY: OLOHITARE MARY BELO.

Comfort Agangan
WIE-UISB
Published in
6 min readAug 5, 2020

Women are uplifted when they are their true authentic selves because they thrive in whatever capacity they choose to occupy and dare to reach out for more.

This week on Woman Crush Wednesday, I had the pleasure of interviewing Mary. We spoke about course choices, femininity and what’s next. Enjoy.

C: Hello, please introduce yourself?

Mary: My name is Mary Olohitare Belo. I am a Corona-affected graduate from the University of Ibadan where I studied Petroleum Engineering. I have major interests in Technology, Communication, and Design.

I am a quick learner especially when the situation arises and I often surprise myself a lot with the new things I learn to do daily. I am passionate about creative learning, and I share this passion by contributing to the development and growth of children.

I also encourage ladies to progress in the capacity they have chosen, especially in STEM. I love to read a lot as it helps form most of my thinking process. In my free time, I write, make hair, sleep, and also look for trouble.

C: Interesting. So how would you describe your stay in UI in one word?

Mary Belo: Now, we both know that is not possible, but assuming the possibility for this sake, I would say "mind-boggling".

C: Oh wow. I thought you would have said something like 'educational’. Recte Sapere Fons, do you think you meet the criteria?

Mary Belo: Hahaha, UI was so much more than that for me. Hmmm, that Latin phrase has been UI’s motto even before I was born, and it does well to uphold the school to live up to her expectations.

I cannot officially say I meet the criteria, as I am yet to be declared satisfactory in character and learning. But, personally, with my experiences, I would say yes. I do.

C: What have you been up to this Corona break?

Mary Belo: I wouldn’t call this a break, but I have mostly been building capacity. I have worked on some projects to solve genuine problems outside school and I realize how much I still have to learn. I have also had a lot of reflection about the things I want to do going forward.

C: Why did you choose your department?

Mary Belo: Petroleum Engineering. Growing up, I had always known engineering would be my thing. When it was time to choose, the whole oil money and going offshore to the rig for months fascinated me, it didn’t look too stressful at that time.

C: Haha, how would you say it is now?

Mary Belo: The future of work has changed. Nobody likes stress anymore.

C: Apart from academics, what are your hobbies?

Mary Belo: I doodle a lot, especially in class. I am not a serious student like that. I love reading, writing, staying indoors, making hair (self-taught and extremely good), singing (I don’t have a good voice), and sleeping (I can sleep for Africa when I want to). I also enjoy making things out of whatever material I can find (just for fun).

C: That’s great, you are really creative then. Do you make wigs?

Mary Belo: Not really, I don’t make hair for business just pleasure. I am also not a huge fan of wigs. I love my natural hair a lot.

C: One thing I’ve noticed is that most of the creative people I know are in courses that have nothing to do with art. Medicine, engineering...and so on.

Mary Belo: True that, but some people from my childhood days that I recently reconnected with, expressed their surprise at my choice. I don’t know what their notion is. These professions require creative solutions. I wouldn’t say we are far off.

C: What would you say some of your greatest achievements in school are?

Mary Belo: What I consider achievements are the little things for me. First, not having any carryover. Especially in my 2nd year. It was my worst session as it affected my CGPA. Thankfully, I was able to rise above it.

Contesting to be President in my department. Mentoring young ladies like me across various departments and levels in school. I feel there should be a few more things added, but I would leave it this way.

C: That’s really great

C: What’s your take on women in Tech? Regarding femininity. Do you think you we have to be less feminine to be taken seriously?
Have you ever encountered sexism in tech?

Mary Belo: Hmmmm. As someone who has had struggles with that, I would boldly tell you that you don’t have to be less feminine to be taken seriously.

For example, with dressing. My style for comfort would be joggers/knickers and oversized shirts to class on a normal day. I didn’t see any reason I would doll up when it ends up with trekking and moving from one place to the other, climbing mountains and hills just to attend class. After all, the guys did not have to suffer as much.

I was almost always aggressive about it and would say I lost touch with my femininity because I became very comfortable with it. I couldn’t think of wearing anything else.

The same thing with when I was Class rep, it was mostly hard trying to rally around everyone to listen to me. I had to act tough to ensure that they heard my voice.

It was gradually affecting me because it took extra work on my part to do my job. Just imagine having to tell over 35 guys what to do. Lol! A few of my classmates noticed this and offered to help me out.

I survived that episode. Gradually, I learned that giving up myself just to roll with the guys changes nothing. Women are uplifted when they are their true authentic selves because they thrive in whatever capacity they choose to occupy and dare to reach out for more.

C: Wow. Thank you so much for this. What’s your advice to any undergraduate lady in STEM in UI?

Mary Belo: You are as excellent as you think you are. Always lift the bar as high as you want it and ensure you surpass it. In doing all of this, do not forget to pay it forward for those coming after you so they can learn from your mistakes and accomplish more amazing things. The world is ready; I believe.

C: Thank you so much Mary.

Mary Belo: You’re welcome.

Mary was the Head of Alumni and External Relations, SPE UI, she was also the Vice President of HIVE AI and Robotics Club to name a few of her positions. She is also an avid writer.

Connect with her on:

Instagram: @olo_belo

Twitter: @olo_belo

LinkedIn: Olohitare Belo

Blog: ifeatuu.wordpress.com

ABOUT US

WIE-UISB stands for Women in Engineering, University of Ibadan Students Branch. A community dedicated to empowering ladies in Engineering and other STEM fields.

Connect with us:

Instagram: wie_uisb

Twitter: wie_uisb

Medium: WIE-UISB

#womentechmakers #womenintech #oilandgas #gamechanger #marybelo #universityofibadan #petroleumengineering #digital #nigeria #wie #ieee #womeninengineering

--

--