Diepriye Apola Opuda
wiifm
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2016

--

Never, Never Judge a book by the quality of its cover.

Within the past two weeks I’ve been reminded by all my subscription based apps such as deezer, fast company etc about the expiration of my debit card.

Today, having the liberty from a less busy schedule to go to the bank and accompanied by my wife who also had issues with her recently renewed debit card, we took a drive in the rain while we chatted away. Today, I would say had been rather successful and we still had another three hours to the close of business.

As I walked towards the entrance of the bank, I was trying to help my wife get in when I saw the security man that I’d know for about a decade now working with the bank. We exchanged pleasantries as I helped myself through the security door where I was intercepted by the system probably because of my iPhone. I looked at the security desk inside the banking hall and smiled at the officer standing there who quickly recognised me and smiled back as he granted me access.

We also exchanged pleasantries since we hadn’t seen ourselves in a long time mainly because I’d fully utilized the automated mobile banking system so much so that it took the expiration of my card for me to get back into the banking hall. It became clearer the luxury we enjoy using the Internet to carry out our daily transactions. It was dreadful back in the days when we had to go to the bank for every little transaction. I haven’t signed any cheque in years.

Anyway, I and my wife proceeded toward the customer service desk where I saw yet another long time acquaintance from the bank and as I called out his name, my wife said to me that she didn’t like him due to his perceived sluggish attitude I imagined.

He looked up and saw me; and a radiant smile spread across his face. We exchanged pleasantries and I explained to him my issue. He asked that I return to the bank on a certain date for card collection. I was really surprised and I asked, “Just like that”? He replied “yes”.

In as much as I was happy I didn’t have to go through any rigorous process, I was amazed that he appeared to be more efficient than I’d known him to be years ago. Like fine wine he had gotten more confident and effective at his job.

Back then when I met him, I cursed that the bank should dismiss him due to his perceived incompetence, however he proved me wrong and now I truly understand that like the other people I’ve had to give second chances, I too have been given a chance to prove myself.

We truly don’t need to be quick to judge!

P/S: I figured I’d put out this piece while waiting for my wife to rectify her debit card issue in the banking hall .

--

--

Diepriye Apola Opuda
wiifm
Editor for

A technology enthusiast and advocate for simple, smart business and lifestyle