One year of clean uninterrupted power!

Diepriye Apola Opuda
wiifm
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2016

I live in the supposed worst country as it concerns development and corruption and amongst all of these, power that is supposed to support development in developing countries. The lack of it has led patriotic Nigerians to provide for themselves alongside portable water, security etc despite payment of taxes to the government who are the authority to provide these basic amenities. It’s sad to note that the basic need for living in Nigeria is virtually non-existent.

If you haven’t noticed, power outage give you a lot of headache and might even reduce your lifespan. We inhale petrol fumes which contains lead (dangerous to our health) when fueling our generators, and after the generator comes on we are then faced with noise pollution. And it gets worse if the generator goes off in middle of the night when the highly priced petrol is exhausted. The heat wades in and you end up not having the recommended amount of sleep (7.5 — 8 hours daily).

Tired with this situation, I went on a search for a pragmatic solution. Since I live in a rented apartment, I ruled out the option of solar panels and bought the idea of an inverter.

In the years 2012–2013, I battled with a 2kVA inverter that came with 2 gel 12v batteries. After about a year, I replaced the batteries since I was already enjoying the solution sought. I decided to do same for my Mom and In-laws. They also appreciated the use of an inverter. At first, they also encountered some issues just as I did but with time we all became professionals in managing the inverter.

Say you do not have electricity for two days, you power your generator and while in use it charges your inverter, you still sleep well owning to the fact that you have a fan (where you don’t, get one it’s inexpensive).

Since March 28, 2015 I have experienced like never before in recent times power supply for about 18hours daily and many days uninterrupted supply. In the past year, I can count how many times I’ve had to put on my generator. At some point, I even considered selling it off.

I acquired a 3kw smart inverter at the beginning of 2014 with 4 batteries and up until now the battery still churns out about 24 hours of power.

Some say their inverters don’t last as long as mine, but I discovered that they had equipment like fridge and Air Conditioners! loaded on their inverter. My people, if we really need that much luxury then we should be able to pay for it. A 3kw inverter would not work in this case. You should be aiming to buy nothing less than a 7.5kVA inverter with a minimum of 12 batteries for you to manage 6 hours of power.

My inverter only carries the following load;

  • A 32' LCD and a 42" LED Flat Screen Televisions
  • Energy saving bulbs (about 24 of them — my home is properly lit)
  • 3 Battery and AC powered standing Fans
  • DSTV Explorer, HD DSTV Compact, A MacBook and a few phones.
  • I guess that’s all (this is still part of the list)

I can assure you (in Buhari’s voice) that I don’t even know when there isn’t electricity from the power grid (except I notice that Air Condition is off). I have peace like a river especially now that I have evangelized my neighbors to join me in the inverter revolution. Whenever a Neighbour’s generator comes on, I call out “Timothy”; who’s generator is on? If that Neighbour doesn’t have an inverter, Na evangelism get am there.

So in the spirit evangelism, I urge you to join the bandwagon and get inverted!

Updated: This Niger Delta Avengers aren’t doing justice to this post above.

--

--

Diepriye Apola Opuda
wiifm
Editor for

A technology enthusiast and advocate for simple, smart business and lifestyle