Videovarsity

Diepriye Apola Opuda
wiifm
Published in
1 min readJul 5, 2015

--

I just coined this word while watching a lynda.com video of “getting things done” by David Allen and it struck me that sooner than later, we would not need to attend conventional schools to be useful in society.

The recent acquisition of lynda.com by LinkedIn is making this very possible and fun of course.

Haven received an email invite from LinkedIn to enjoy 21 days free access to lynda.com, that was my excitement. I became curious and jumped at the offer not minding my Internet data bundle. Just after watching the introduction, the word popped up in my head. Geez, LinkedIn got it right this time. I wonder what the future of conventional schools would be.

My excitement is simply because I learnt quite a lot from lynda.com since the late 90’s from titles like macromedia dreamweaver, fireworks, flash etc. Back then, you get to see lynda (the owner) herself doing the introduction before the tutor takes over in all the video tutorials. But with so many titles now, you shouldn’t expect those scenes.

This is one trend which I believe would impact the future generation positively and reduce the skill gap amongst them. All that is needed is just the time, little finance and technological resources.

--

--

Diepriye Apola Opuda
wiifm
Editor for

A technology enthusiast and advocate for simple, smart business and lifestyle