8 EASY Minimalist Habits to Save Money and Live a Happy Life

Amy Chen, CMA
WikiMonday
Published in
7 min readJan 16, 2023

--

Photo by No Revisions on Unsplash

One of the reasons why I wanted to adopt to a more minimalist lifestyle was because the idea of living simple with less sounded really attractive to me. This really helped me to become more intentional in all aspects of my life, including my finances.

Over time, I noticed that I was cutting back on my impulse purchases and mindless spending over consumption. Instead, I’m able to now focus on my long-term money goals.

Minimalism isn’t necessarily about spending less money but about channeling our hard earned money towards the things that we actually value in life. We can putt in a little bit of effort to be more resourceful and organized. I noticed how big of a difference it really makes.

So here are eight minimalist habits that can help you to save money.

  1. Determine what you need

Consumerism becomes excessive when we buy beyond what’s needed. Since adopting a more minimalist approach, I’ve realized how much money I was spending towards things I didn’t even need or even worse, things I didn’t even know I was paying for, such as spending too much on clothes, cute little decor items, apps, subscriptions, memberships, excessive utility bills. These all started to add up very quickly, yet I wasn’t any happier because of it.

--

--

Amy Chen, CMA
WikiMonday

Exploring the intersection of cryptocurrency, personal finance and medicines