A kea, native to New Zealand. Photo by Tomas Sobek on Unsplash

Charles Anderson joins from New Zealand

Another international name on our books

WikiTribune
WikiTribune
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2017

--

Forgive us if the WikiTribune blog seems like a constant parade of introductions lately — we’re expanding fast and want you to be completely up-to-date on who’s who.

With that in mind, here’s our latest recruit: Charles Anderson.

Hi Charles. Tell us a bit about you.

I’m a New Zealand-based journalist who’s worked around the world covering everything from food crises and sex trafficking to cricket and peacekeeping.

At WikiTribune, I’m a consulting editor which means I’m working with our staff reporters and the community to ensure the stories published on WikiTribune meet our standards and ambitions. Occasionally I’ll also be writing.

How did you come to join WikiTribune?

I’ve sort-of known Peter Bale, the launch editor, for some time — from when he was head of CNN digital. I’ve kept in touch over the years and when WikiTribune was announced, he asked if I would like to come aboard.

Why did the project appeal to you?

I’ve always been excited by experiments and this is one of the most interesting experiments in journalism right now. Having the opportunity to help start something new, ambitious and potentially game-changing was one I could not say no to.

What were you doing before?

I’ve been a journalist for the better part of a decade, largely focused on feature writing and investigative reporting. In that work I’ve moved toward figuring out how journalists can use interactive and immersive technologies to tell better stories.

On the back of that work I set up a small agency to help organisations take advantage of the tools that are out there to do this kind of work. We launched an interactive documentary a couple of months ago using elements I haven’t seen anywhere else. I’m really proud of that.

For more from Charles, follow @cdlanderson on Twitter or take a look at Vanishing Point studio and his website.

--

--