We have a new journalist to introduce

WikiTribune
WikiTribune
2 min readSep 18, 2017

--

Meet George Engels, an Argentinian, who has joined WikiTribune in London.

Meet George

Hola! I’m George (Jorge) Engels, I joined WikiTribune on September 11.

I hope to cover stories to do with transnational political and social affairs, as well as doing some straightforward on-the-ground reporting and editing.

I was born and raised in Buenos Aires, Argentina, before coming to study in England.

How did you get your job at WikiTribune?

Remember the cliché: if at first you don’t succeed, try again? That’s how I got my job at WikiTribune.

Why did you want to join WikiTribune? What’s it like actually working there?

I wanted to join WikiTribune to be a part of something new and innovative. Also, I love journalism and start-ups, so it was something I had to try for.

Lots of writing and lots of reading — it’s heaven. I haven’t worked with Jimmy yet [he’s away a lot], but I am looking forward to it.

What were you doing before?

I was doing a master’s in journalism at City, University of London, before joining WikiTribune. Before that, I worked for a tech startup expanding the business into France and Spain.

What’s been your proudest achievement so far in life?

I might have helped avoid someone getting stabbed while I was in Venezuela. Getting my second dan black belt in taekwondo at age 15 was nice too.

Read more about George on his website, or follow him on Twitter: @gengels92.

--

--