Photo by James Bold on Unsplash

We have a photographer in residence

Please welcome Francis Augusto

WikiTribune
WikiTribune
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2017

--

We want photography and powerful imagery to be major features of WikiTribune. To help push that, we have a new photographer in residence: Francis Augusto. He’s here to help us develop a distinctive approach to photography.

Here’s a quick Q&A.

Hi Francis, could you tell us a bit about yourself?

My full name is Nginamau Francisco Augusto, but Francis will suffice. I joined the team on 8/09/2017 as Photographer in Residence.

My role essentially is around photographic art and creative direction. I’ll also be working on different photo essays: one on the WikiTribune journey, and another one about a facet of London life.

How did you get your position at WikiTribune?

I sent a tweet to the WikiTribune Twitter, then my portfolios by email.

Hustling works, people

Why WikiTribune? What’s it like actually working there?

I thought the premise of WikiTribune was interesting and wanted to produce photographs for them.

What were you doing before?

Wandering through the wonderful terrain of being a freelance photographer. I am still idly walking now, but slowly getting to grips with this new life.

I was also a youth worker in my previous life.

What have been your proudest achievements so far?

I came 2nd in the NCVO impact photography competition, which is pretty cool. My photographs have been featured in the Huffington Post, CYP Now, Londonist, and even a wallpaper on the WeTransfer website.

My proudest achievement probably has to be leaving my old job, though. Before then, I would always tell young people to not make excuses and use the agency that they have within them to do brilliant things. I strongly believe that we are capable of so much. Being able to hand in my notice, without any real clients to work with was the biggest risk of my life, so I’m pretty proud of that.

Also, seeing [youth creative agency] Livity win the Grand Prix at the 2017 BIMA awards was AWESOME!

For more, follow Francis on Twitter and Instagram, or check out his website.

--

--