Travel

Traveling Today: The World’s Greatest Feat

An indication of what traveling safely looks like during the Coronavirus

Amelia Prochnow
Wild Adventure

--

Photo by Nathan Hobbs on Unsplash

I used to think flying was the most rewarding way to travel. Now I’m not so sure.

I would get so excited booking flights months in advance to go on vacation or a work endeavor, but now you can’t even venture into an airport without at least a gallon of hand sanitizer and your N95 on. It is so disheartening watching the Summer of 2020 slip away through your fingers. All of your trips to Hawaii are suddenly canceled and now you can’t even venture into your favorite coffee shops.

The world is closed, and we were given no choice but to accept it.

Now when you walk through the airport at 10 in the morning, it is desolate and the people that are flying look like they’re going to clean up radioactive contamination with their hazmat suits on! A new “social distancing” requirement has also made its way into our vocabulary as of lately. This new, and unusual, way of living started back in March of 2020 and has drawn on through to today. In February I was worried about what classes I was going to take in the next semester of college, rather than the state of our nation and the future.

In a way, now that airports are less bustling with people, flying has become much less of a hindrance. Every hotel and shop that you visit is empty and the people you do see are wearing masks. I thought, “If they are wearing a mask and I’m not how is that helping anyone?”

As the months draw on, more and more people are paying less attention to the disease and just trying to return to life as it was. However, that could lead to more danger and more cases to arise in our nation. But when you are nineteen years old, you don’t want to miss out on living your life to the fullest, right?

This was my thought process exactly when I booked an exclusive Airbnb stay for a week in the middle of nowhere for only $60 a night. I took off on my journey to the middle of Oregon by car because I wanted to stay somewhat safe and “socially distance” myself.

Photo by Leio McLaren (@leiomclaren) on Unsplash

So, I buckled my seatbelt and sat back for six hours as I traveled to Summerville, Oregon. This town has a populous of 140 and is unlike anywhere you have ever been before.

I thought, “This is just the place to be during the outbreak — the middle of nowhere.” The overall travel experience was pretty carefree and easy, with little to no interactions with anyone else.

For anyone planning a quaint little get-away for the weekend, this is just the place for you. (I have attached a link below) A bonus point: there is even an option to ride horses for 2 hours, grooming and feeding them too.

So… the next time you think about flying on a plane to your quaint vacation spot this Coronavirus season, think again! Just hop in your car with a friend, and buckle up for the journey ahead. You won’t regret this once in a lifetime adventure that waits for you in Summerville, Oregon.

Overall trip experience: 10/10 would recommend and would go again.

10/10 amenities at the Airbnb.

7/10 things to do in Summerville. I would only recommend staying for about 3–4 days, at most.

9/10 travel experience. The trip is a little long but it’s better than catching a disease on a plane.

I hope that you will consider venturing out into the world during these scary times and try something you never have before. Safe travels!

--

--

Amelia Prochnow
Wild Adventure

A college student looking to impact the world and your reading lists.