Meet Aspiring Artist, Isha Neupane

Wild Goose Creative
Wild Goose Creative
4 min readApr 6, 2021

For this month’s gallery show, we had the privilege of partnering with the Community Connectors Program within Community Refugee & Immigration Services (CRIS) to showcase over 50 works from students representing over 21 countries. We sat down with one of the artists—Isha Neupane, to talk about her passion for art, what inspires her and goals for the future.

Isha Neupane

Tell us about yourself!

I’m 18 years old and I study studio art at Columbus State Community College. I’m also taking advanced reading and math classes. I came to Columbus 8 years ago when I was in the fifth grade. My parents are from Bhutan and I’m from Nepal.

How long have you been making art?

I’ve been making art all my life. I’ve loved art since before I came to Columbus, but I’ve never shown anyone my work. My mom says that I used to be fascinated by art from a very young age. I would always stay up late looking at the art in the streets. When I was in middle school people started commenting on my work. I love every type of art, it just depends on what I feel like doing, sometimes painting, watercolor, sketches, digital art, ceramics, etc.

What do you enjoy most about making art?

I like the process a lot. Playing around with the colors and seeing how the results makes me happy. I also really enjoy showing people and seeing their reactions. Creating something and being inspired by nature and other artists is also part of the process that I enjoy a lot.

Tell us about the piece you made for the show. What’s it about?

“Wish” — Acrylic on Canvas

This painting is complicated. Usually when I start the process I have a specific idea in my mind, but for this one it was spontaneous. I was up late at night, my favorite time to paint, and this time of the day was the inspiration behind this painting.

The lights, which are filled with colors, represent the woman, and I chose the lanterns as a symbolism for wishes. After finishing the painting I realized that the whole painting is a wish to live in the night forever.

How did you choose the colors?

I didn’t really think a lot about the colors. I started mixing colors and the painting started to come together. I also added some white and other colors to define the elements in the painting such as the water.

You came up with the name of the show—Fernweh. What inspired you to come up with that name?

The meaning behind Fernweh is very cool. It means the desire to escape the reality of where you’re living, almost like wanderlust. When I suggested the name none of the artists or Jeremy knew what it meant but the exhibition ended up being a perfect fit since each artist expressed their culture and their imagination in one way or another.

Are you looking to continue making art?

I would like to develop my skills more. I want to be in a quiet place somewhere in nature where I get most of my inspiration. My goal is to travel the world and participate in many exhibitions. I would also like to open a cafe with my mom, who’s a great cook, and hang my paintings there.

Community Refugee & Immigration Services (CRIS) is an independent non-profit organization that serves the refugee and immigrant populations in Central Ohio. We have over 50 staff members from all over the world who speak many different languages. Their wide array of programs and services aim to facilitate sustained self-sufficiency and successful integration for the people we serve.

The Community Connectors Program supports new Americans who are 14–24 years old. This program includes academic support, career development, social engagement, and making Columbus feel like their home.

Join us on Friday, April 9th, 6–9pm for the opening. Fernweh will be on display until April 22nd. Thank you to 400 Square, Franklinton Arts District, Greater Columbus Arts Council and The Columbus Foundation for supporting this year’s gallery series. Can’t make the opening? E-mail lydia@wildgoosecreative.org.

--

--

Wild Goose Creative
Wild Goose Creative

Wild Goose Creative is an arts organization whose mission is to build a creative community at the intersection of art, risk and meaning.