Magic in the Mundane

How to be a goddess when you spend your days dealing with the regular, ugly, messy stuff that life throws at you.

Rikki Lynai
Wild Heart Writers
3 min readAug 12, 2019

--

Recently I’ve noticed a trend on social media about how to be a woman who is strong-willed, wild-hearted or free-spirited.

Confession time.

These are my favorite pieces to read. Whether they are articles, poems or quotes they are food for my soul. The authors weave their words magically. I see distant glimmers of myself in those words: wild, goddess, free-spirit. They all pull at my heartstrings. In some ways, they fit like an old shoe, tattered yet cherished but still fits nonetheless. They probably fit better than I give myself credit for.

When I read these articles my soul jumps up and down and says,

“Yes! Yes!! All the Yeses! That’s me!”

However, my head quickly tells me to sit down because I’m a fraud.

How can I be a goddess when I spend my days dealing with the regular, ugly, messy stuff that life throws at me? How can I be a free-spirit if I’m wiping noses and cleaning toilets? For the people who aren’t moms but work full time— you can’t be a fairy-princess if you’re stuck at a desk with your boss yelling at you all day. At least this is what we tell ourselves.

So instead we tuck these magical wisps of words into our “favorites” folder and promise ourselves we will come back to them someday. On that day maybe, just maybe those words will come true.

But they don’t.

Life is relentless and you never get to go on your mermaid adventure because your cat got sick or your kid spilled milk on your maps.

But guess what?

I want you to know that it’s okay!

It’s okay to be “regular” (whatever regular means) and it’s okay to not be a “magical goddess” all the time. Life is complicated enough without making it a goal to be more fairy-like. It’s okay to spend your days folding laundry, going to work or washing dishes.

The magic lies in the mundane.

Photo by Caleb George on Unsplash

I just want you to know that on days that it seems like you want to run away and join the circus maybe the circus you’re looking for is in your own backyard.

It’s okay to strive for free-spirited awesomeness but don’t strive so hard that you miss out on the life that is right in front of you.

It’s there…

It’s beautiful…

It’s messy…

It’s yours!

Maybe I can’t be a carefree mermaid today (I totally had the blue hair though) but I can help mold my children into the most awesome, loving and kind beings possible. Maybe I’m not the wild-whipping wind but I will be the soft shore waiting for them when they dock home.

On a good day, I don’t feel strong-willed much less free-spirited. Most days I wish I could run away. I have a wild-heart soul that gets restless but I wouldn’t trade the tiny hugs or the “Mommy I love you’s,” for anything in the universe.

During all this monotony I imagine myself frolicking in the forest barefoot like the wild-wolf woman my soul craves and I smile. Some day when life slows down that might be my story but right now I am just me. Little old me in a domestic world trying to raise a family by myself and figuring out what’s for dinner.

Today that is enough.

I’m okay with that.

And that is magical!

So here’s to the “regular” women.

The magic in the mundane people.

The dreamers, the hopers, and the seers.

Keep rocking your messy life-loving selves.

Because there is magic in your mundane.

--

--

Rikki Lynai
Wild Heart Writers

Mother of Five-Survivor- Poetess-Seeker of Light-LoveChild of Moon & Desert-Insta@beingrikki