One of my many pointless obsessions. Part #1

or “How to feel bad because I don´t have an album image in a song”

matias rothkopf
Laguna Sunrise
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2013

--

I simply can´t stand it… I download an album, import it to my library, and then I need to do Two things

  1. Download the album cover
  2. correct the gender of the music

Let´s say you download a KISS album, don´t you hate when it appears as “Hard Rock”. For me it is not, it is simply ROCK.

Another example > My Bloody Valentine. Try to import, Loveless for example … the automatic gender is like “Shoegaze, nineties alternative rock”

I just can´t let that to random. I need to put every album in my correct gender.

I always like to ask: How is yout user experience in iTunes. Do you really use a list ? You search for your music, just by looking by an artist or by the name of the album (and the horrible cover flow).

I personally search by gender. It is like “I am in the mood for Black Metal or I am going with some delightfull Ravel Piece of piano …”

But let´s return to the title of this catartic article:

Album covers. The last version of iTunes, simply sucks in the import of album covers! If it´s not in the database it is just impossible to have an album tidy.

Oh … and you know what is the worst case scenario

When this happens …

Front and back cover as a rectangle … in a square

I just want to erase everything

Next chapter > no tracklist in an album

--

--

matias rothkopf
Laguna Sunrise

| Comm Manager @ternium | | Photographer | | Music geek from the analog-mixtape-era | Se habla español |