Dear Songbird

Bhargavi P
Wild Yellow Flower
Published in
1 min readAug 3, 2016

Dear songbird
sing me your song
with the haunting melody
of a night so dark
even a fire fly
can lead the way

Oh! Songbird
sing me your song
the one you sang
the day I lost, my love

Songbird
sing me the song
the one with a broken note
the unfinished one

Songbird, songbird
this has gone on long enough
Let’s change the melody
to make us happy
to jump with joy
so that we are sad no more.

Songbird
Let’s sing a song
with joy and laughter
like the day I met you
heard you sing
your first happy song

My dear songbird
I’ve never asked you this
Why did you change your happy melody?
the one that brought tears of joy.

Songbird, songbird
I love you so,
The melodies you sing
like the waves of life.

Originally written on: 16 Jan 2015

--

--